We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy,busy but excellent fare”
Review of Il Pirata

Il Pirata
Ranked #58 of 1,055 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Busy,busy but excellent fare”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On arrival we were found a table,restaurant was packed but service was swift and friendly
the starters and main course were both excellent as was the house red wine, will recommend and return if we can get a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnl10963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    159
    79
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never out of here!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I live very close to il pirata. So luckily I can go all the time! The menu has just changed and it has some gorgeous small plates, confit of squid-yum! However my fave to die for dish is the duck ragu with spinach and gnocchi, I swear I have had it about five times now, every time is like the first, totally gorgeous! Staff are fab and super cool, get art to make a yummy lemon martini! I will be back of course, where else would I get my duck ragu fix???!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodycentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rustic environs with great Italian food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited for the first time today. It is very spaciou, relaxed and open, unassuming from the outside. They use all wooden tables and odd chairs and plates. Service is good and can be busy at the weekends. The menu is great with a good selection. The pork slider starter was delicious. Would recommend for a night out with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob241205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fine informal dining”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This restaurant is an excellent addition o good quality dining in East Belfast. The menu is flexible so that you can go for a series of tapas style portions or a more conventional starter and main course. Lighting is dim (in the evening) but small torches are provided to examine the menu! The staff are excellent and friendly. The wine list is good quality without the massive mark up in man other places. The evening we dined the music was a little too loud but otherwise an excellent night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my first visit to this restaurant. Delicious food (I had mushroom, pesto & parmesan risotto..yum!) and a relaxed, warm ambience. Staff were helpful, informative and overall relaxed.

Will return for a weekend visit and sample cocktails and have more wine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Armaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pirata also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Il Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing