We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Steak!”
Review of The Bar + Grill

The Bar + Grill
Ranked #42 of 1,086 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The Bar + Grill is a stylish and lively restaurant in Belfast serving an extensive menu for all day dining. We are renowned for our steaks which are cooked on a charcoal grill which give the meat unique taste and texture and we have an extensive menu of fresh fish daily running alongside our home comfort specials of fresh pasta, fish pie and brunch at the weekends, as well as a Roast on a Sunday. We have a carefully selected list of wines from the world, as well as cool cocktails and local craft beers. We are located minutes walk away from the Europa Hotel, The Crown Bar and the City Hall. Our other restaurants include James Street South, Hadskis and Cast & Crew.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Was in JSS Bar & Grill last night and can honestly say they served me with one of the most delicious steaks I've ever eaten! Parmesan and truffle fries were divine and a great wine selection to wash it all down. Staff were attentive and friendly, overall a delightful experience! Will certainly be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lou24Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Lou24Belfast,
Thank you so much for posting your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for The Bar + Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 464 of 715 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Food was nothing special, infact overcooked steaks and fatty chicken. The worst thing was the service, one of the waitress was extremely rude. When one of my colleagues asked if his meal was coming with chips, the response was "i've only got two hands". Unfortuately this was one of many unnecessary comments. Overall, not worth the visit, there is far better available in Belfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank craigiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Craigiemo,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your review. I was very disappointed to read your review as we pride ourselves on the high standards of service we provide. The majority of our other Tripadvisor reviews comment on our friendly, professional and attentive service.
After an investigation to the events i was able to establish which waitress was looking after you on the evening. The waitress that was looking after that night remembers your table very well as one of your guests came from the same town in England as she does which they discussed. Your waitress also remembers having a bit of a laugh with the gentlemen on your table. She did remember saying that "she had only one pair of hands" but given that she had been having a bit of a laugh with the table she thought it would be received in the good humour that it was intended.
Obviously you did not receive the comment in the manner it was intended and for this I apologise.
Your waitress on the evening also remembers distinctively checking on your main courses when everything was deemed as very good with no mention of " overcooked steaks and fatty chicken". We check all our guests while they are eating to ensure everything is to their satisfaction. If there is a problem such as an overcooked steak then we can deal with it then and there and ensure you leave a satisfied customer. Unfortunately there is not much we can do days later when a guest decides to air their discontent on Tripadvisor, rather than telling us on the night.
We hope you will not let this experience deter you from returning in the future when I would hope you will have a much more pleasurable meal.
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This could be just another Bar and Grill swinging on the tail of its more upmarket restaurant and cookery school, however what makes this a really good bar and grill is the menu and the staff.

The restaurant menu indicates the source of their ingredients which for the most part, is reassuringly local bringing a changing seasonal flare to the dishes. The menu is varied enough for everyone's taste but what the chef has managed to produce is excellent uncomplicated food (you don't need a dictionary to decode the menu) which is flavourful and looks appealing on the plate.

Additionally, the house staff know how to greet and look after the customer. My friend arrived with suitcase in hand and was immediately asked if she would like them to securely store her case. I, who by now should know to ask one very important question about the menu, forgot so my starter arrived (Parsnip soup) looking exquisitely creamy, my stomach was filled with dread as I'm intolerant to that particular much-loved restaurant staple. A quick word with the server, who spoke to the chef, resulted in a change of starter with not an ion of fuss or dismay. Brownie points all round!

It's a fine restaurant, a few pounds more expensive but not prohibitively expensive for lunch plus there is a set menu which offers a great choice if you prefer not to go the a la carte route. The atmosphere is OK, it's not too loud which facilitates meaningful conversation as you can actually converse without yelling - a definite plus in my book. All in all, a very nice lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeachPebbleQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear BeachPebbleQue,
Thank you for taking the time to post your favourable review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed dining with us and we hope you can visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food here was very nice & quaintly presented, the portions were abit too big for me but my partner relished this, I couldn't manage a dessert but had a dessert cocktail...it was delicious! very satisfying evening

1  Thank moclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear MoClarke,
Thank you very much for posting your comments.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

6 of us ate here on Fri night. Our table was ready for us when we arrived, and service was prompt and attentive. The food was delicious, my fillet steak was cooked perfectly, I didnt even use the sauce as I didnt need it as the steak tasted so good. Would def recommend and will def be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Yumplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Yumplum,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar + Grill also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Bar + Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing