We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just too noisy!!”
Review of The Bar + Grill

The Bar + Grill
Ranked #31 of 1,072 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The Bar + Grill is a stylish and lively restaurant in Belfast serving an extensive menu for all day dining. We are renowned for our steaks which are cooked on a charcoal grill which give the meat unique taste and texture and we have an extensive menu of fresh fish daily running alongside our home comfort specials of fresh pasta, fish pie and brunch at the weekends, as well as a Roast on a Sunday. We have a carefully selected list of wines from the world, as well as cool cocktails and local craft beers. We are located minutes walk away from the Europa Hotel, The Crown Bar and the City Hall. Our other restaurants include James Street South, Hadskis and Cast & Crew.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just too noisy!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This is perhaps the fourth time I have eaten here and have no complaints about the food - excellent steaks, delicious accompaniments - or the service which is efficient, friendly and attentive. The atmosphere on a Saturday night is lively - however, it's almost impossible to converse with your dinner companion without yelling! Sooooo noisy. And why on earth does a restaurant of this quality offer paper napkins - and thin ones at that?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Maxxxxxxx,
I am really pleased that you continue to enjoy dining with us! The bar + grill is a very busy restaurant and noise levels do tend to get very high, unfortunately we do have have any control over this. We do have a fine dining restaurant next door which would not be as noisy, some people do prefer the calmer atmosphere of the restaurant and some prefer the lively buzz in the bar and grill.
We hope you will not let the noise levels deter you from returning in the future.
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    175
    72
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great venue for business or pleasure....”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a well established eatery in Belfast's busy district. With a fine dining restaurant next door, there seems to be many options, although the bar and grill menu is extensive enough to provide enough options. Although there is depth in the menu, allowing for anything from macaroni to fillet steak, this means that the price range reflects this.
The specials provide a nice feature, with some extra options to an already large choice. However when you get the chance to have a T-bone steak with pepper sauce and chips, your day has been set. It was excellent and the sauce and chips a great accompaniment, although I do think that hand cut chips would be a great option here. The seafood chowder to star was great and although it would probably have benefitted from some bread, I was pacing myself to a Tbone. I really didn't need the sticky toffee sundae, however once more into the breach I headed.
A great lively location with excellent staff, providing a good option for any occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear StulM,
Thank you very much for posting your review! We are really pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Making Belfast Proud”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Right from the last minute booking these people have it right and as a Belfast native i am delighted to report a wonderful cuisine experience. The food was superb and inexpensive given the quality.Fantastic city buzz and pleasant appreciative staff. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Murleog,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed dining with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Didn't Hit The Mark”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have been here quite a few times and always raved about it. Both of us had the whitebait as a starter and while nice enough found the coating a tad salty. Thank goodness for the marie rose sauce. Not even a hint of a few salad leaves, which would have spruced it up as it looked a rather tired boring dish on presentation.
My better 'alf had the whole sea bass but again not even a morsel of anything with it and I thought it was expensive compared to the Mourne Seafood who at least present a fish dish with some form of small accompaniment. So her indoors ordered the champ, which she raved about and we both shared a portion of cabbage and bacon. I had the rump steak and asked for it medium rare. While it looked cooked properly I found it tough overall and was a real disappointment - maybe a different meat supplier! But honestly far from one of the best steaks I have had and wouldn't compare with the same cut in Sargossa in Letterkenny. The chips were okay - skinny fries and cooked fine.
We adore the knickerbocker glory as a treat for dessert when we come here. But to our surprise no boozy cherries, which you would have found in the middle and bottom of the dessert - more like a crushed bitter raspberry taste and only for the ice-cream that helped drown the taste it would have been a disaster.
We had a diet coke, pure orange and a glass of sauvignon blanc. To be fair the staff as usual were pleasant and cheerful. As for the meal it was a hit and miss. The price of 75 pounds is a tad overpriced for the quality of the food we had on this occasion.
We will be back but I wouldn't be knocking down the door as I would normally do, as there are other decent restaurants that don't over inflate prices with having to always add additional sides to bolster a meal. I definitely would never order rump steak again and while it is a cheaper cut of meat I have had it in other establishments and never found it as difficult to digest. Next time I will revert to the fillet or sirloin.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theblackwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Theblackwitch,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about you visit to the bar + grill. I was really disappointed to read that you did not truly enjoy your meal with us! As you correctly said the rump is a slightly tougher piece of meat but it certainly should not be inedible. Had you of made us aware of your dissatisfaction on the evening we would have replaced your meal and ensured you left a satisfied customer.
I hope you will not let this visit deter you from returning in the future as I know you have enjoyed many meals here in the past and I'm sure you will again in the future.
Kindest regards,
Paul Mc Govern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Don't pass them by......”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here tonight with the good wife and must say the food was good. Staff were pleasant and polite and the service was great... Not rushed and not let to sit about waiting. The menu isn't one to get lost in which I'd rather have and there were a good few choices. Would I return, yes....... Thanks for a good night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanalaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBelfast, Manager at The Bar + Grill, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear wanna laugh,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Paul Mc Govern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar + Grill also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Bar + Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing