We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast but rock hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2009

I stayed here one Sunday night with my husband and 11 year old son and had requested a family room. The room was a good size but it held two queen size beds which were too small for my husband and I to sleep together so I shared with my son. The beds were rock hard so none of us got any sleep that night. The restaurant was closed so we ate in the grill bar. It was very crowded, the tables were not cleared of dirty plates etc., and the counter at the bar was filthy. The staff were run off their feet and apparently this is a common problem on a Sunday night because they don't open the restaurant. The breakfast was very good and the rest of the hotel looked ok.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed here with extended family for a one nite stay. Disappointing room with a v iew of a utility area. Although we had booked a double room it only had 2 large single beds in it. When we asked to be moved to a room with a double bed we were told that they were actually double beds! No way that two adults would be remotely comfortable in them. Would not stay here again for that reason alone. The hotel itself is not near any nitelife etc and you would need a taxi to get into belfast city centre. We ate in the restaurant on first floor which was average hotel food. The pool closes at 6pm at weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avoca146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I arrived late but they kept room for me after my telephone call ahead. A Great Irish welcome! The Reception staff were very friendly and nothing seemed like a problem to the guys & girls here. The bedroom and bathroom were modern, tidy and clean!

Flat screen TV (but internet access only in foyer), Tea, coffee making facilities were fine. The shower/bath was very good. Usual mix of toiletries etc. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet affair but the quality and presentation was 1st rate. Better than some hotels that I have stayed before in Belfast!

No problem recommending this hotel to the traveller or holiday maker.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo-Jambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Booked a family room, 2 adults, 7 year old child and baby. When we got there I thought we had been given the wrong room as we had what looked like 2 slightly large single beds and no cot. I phoned reception who told us they were in fact 2 double beds (coulda fooled me!) and that the cot was on it's way. My older child had one of the beds while myself and my other half cosied up in the other bed which was tiny compared to the quite standard double bed that we have at home <3
The meal in the restaurant was one of the best I've ever had. Despite the mainly adult clientele the staff we very child friendly. I would go back to this hotel for the restaurant alone it was fabulous and reasonably priced for the standard provided. Similarly the breakfast in the morning, all you can eat and it was excellent.
I would recommend this hotel but the dubious sizing of the beds would put me off

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireland782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Booked a family room in this hotel which was described as having two queen beds - in fact the beds were smaller than standard double beds! We had to get a fold out bed for one of the children. Everything else was ok but when my credit card came in last week I discovered I was charged one nights accommodation for not showing up!!!!!! I rang last week and was told that I would have to wait until today so they could check with their computers whether I was there or not!!! After 5 phonecalls I eventually got speaking with the General Manager who informed me I would be refunded - so I will have to wait until next month to see if that happens or not. I would never set foot in this hotel again - if you cannot trust these places with your credit card then its not worth it. In fact I am returning to Belfast next month and will have to find an alternative to this untrustworthy hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonegalGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Efficient and well run. A little surprised to have to deposit £50 more than the room rate to cover meals and drinks we might take. Stayed two separate nights, and had no real minuses, but in both rooms the bath plug didn't work properly, and had to be removed with a spoon. Suggests that supervision isn't quite what it should be.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevizesPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

As a family we decided to have the sunday carvery at £15.95,. The surroundings and food were lovely, as much as you wanted and very well prestended. Even 3 selections of FTER DINNER MINTS ,and shortbread. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leahCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 45 in Belfast
3,035 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $106 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG and Hotwire so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing