We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, friendly, great facilities!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Pahrump, Nevada
1 review
“Comfortable, friendly, great facilities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights at the end of our two weeks in Ireland. The staff was courteous and professional, which we expect, but also warm and friendly - a bonus. The bartender in the Suburban Lounge, Dave, was especially friendly, and patiently explained to us the difference between "British" and "English".

The LA Fitness gym - free to hotel guests - is huge!

Overall a relaxing and enjoyable stay, and a perfect end to our Ireland vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdcassit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear wdcassit

Thank you so much for lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at The Ramada Plaza its a pleasure to hear you where impressed with our facilities here and appreciated our hospitality service and professional staff. We are glad you found your trip to Ireland a enjoyable experience and are trilled to here The Ramada Plaza hotel was the perfect end to your vacation.
Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    428
    205
    90
    68
See reviews for
402
353
41
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My colleague and myself arrived at 9.45pm, straight from a flight and needing food, only to be told the restaurant was closed, which I understood as it was quite late, so we asked if we could have some food at the bar, only to be told no, if we wanted food we had to have room service.

I asked if we could have the room service in the bar, as we wished to have a drink and chat, to be told not we could only have the food in our rooms, I did think this was a joke, but trust me it wasn't! The chap on reception was pleasant enough and suggested restaurants around four miles away that we would have to get a taxi to, but was pretty disappointed to have to check in, pay £20 for a taxi and travel 20 mins each way just to get some food.

So had to pay premium for a taxi and food, and close to £100 later and close to 1am we managed to get sorted.

The hotel itself seems nice, but having arrived at close to 10pm and then having to trek for food and not getting back until close to 1am, unfortunately we didn't see much of it.

Very disappointed and would look to stay somewhere else next time I am in Belfast, this isn't the short of service I would have e pelted from a ramada hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Robin

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. It is with great disappointment to find that you did not encounter the best of service at this time, we certainly understand that you where arriving late at 10.45pm and last orders where in, but we most definitely should of assisted in arranging some food at this stage for you and your colleague. We are extremely sorry for this inconvenience and can say this is not the normal quality of service that we try to deliver here at the Ramada Plaza. We very much appreciate your feedback and can only hope that we can get the opportunity to welcome you back again and prove a better experience.
Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the hotel attending a family wedding, food pretty good, service pretty good, rooms excellent and very clean. First time staying there and would stay again. A little bit out of town centre if you like being close to pubs and restaurants but other than that we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: We seen a couple of rooms including our suite and all are well appointed with good space. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ed

Thank you so much for your kind comments during your recent stay while attending your family wedding at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are delighted you found our facilities and executive rooms comfortable for your stay with us and sincerely hope you had a wonderful day attending your family wedding at our hotel. its great to hear this was your first time at The Ramada Plaza and would definitely stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you back on another return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a king executive room, paid for and got expedia confirmation. Turned up and told there were only two single-bed rooms left, they had given away our booked room despite full payment. Due to time of night no other hotels available. Half the hotel lifts-broken, shower in room - broken, access card to room -broken, WiFi- only works in one corner of room. Certainly don't recommend this hotel plenty of other nice hotels are around, but if you decide to stay don't pay in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrComicBookGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that was caused at this time. This matter is been handed over to our Deputy General Manager and is going to make contact with you by e.mail to resolve this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again at The Ramada Plaza in the near future.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Staff made this stay a great experience, from reception staff to waiting staff, all were warm, welcoming and dedicated. Restaurant well worth a visit and mix of both menus makes every meal interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Robin

Thank you so much for your kind comments during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza. We are delighted that our team of professional staff made your stay a great experience. Our aim is to provide a good quality service from beginning to end and to assist all our customers requirements and to create a memorable and comfortable stay. Thank you so much on your feedback on our restaurant its wonderful to know that you found it well worth a visit and found the choice of both menus interesting. Once again its lovely to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on another visit in the future. A warm welcome awaits at The Ramada Plaza Belfast.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed over a Saturday night with my young teenage daughter. Room was fine: clean, spacious but with a poor view (134). All the staff were helpful and fine until we got to the restaurant. We had to ask for everything: the kids' menu, the wine list etc. The food was poor: I had mussels for a starter - 8 of the wee blighters and one was unopened (not my usual experience of a mussels starter course in Edinburgh), my daughter had soup which was ok, I had a sirloin steak with massed potatoes which was just awful, my daughter had chicken goujons which were overcooked etc. We had a dessert which we had to forage for. Trying to get service was impossible. Anyway we finished our meal and left. Twenty minutes later the restaurant phoned our room to tell us we'd left without paying our bill. How ridiculous! Our table was booked in our room number. Had we waited for our bill we'd have been there all night.
Just not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Robert

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. Your comments are very important to us and are extremely sorry to hear that you found the food and service poor on this occasion. Our team at The Ramada Plaza pride ourselves in the quality service and excellent food that we provide here within the hotel, on this occasion we failed to deliver our normal efficient high standards. We sincerely apologize for this and certainly hope this was a one off situation in our restaurant on this particular evening. in order to understand your comments further we will most definitely investigate this with our team and managers to ensure this does not reoccur. Once again we very much appreciate you bringing this to our attention and hope we can get the opportunity to prove a much more better experience on the next visit to The Ramada Plaza Hotel, assuring you of our best of service at all times.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The service on our stay really disappointed, from having too wait nearly two hours for our room after the check in time, no wine on arrival as booked, slow service and cold food, and staff with a lack of common sense, not to mention our dirty glasses still on a table in RECEPTION 3 hours later!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handball007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear hanball

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are deeply disappointed to hear you had encountered a few issues during your stay, your feedback is very important to us and appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Our team at The Ramada strive to maintain a high quality standard of efficient service at all time but on this occasion I must apologize for the failing to achieve our normal standards on this particular time. We will certainly investigate the reason for delay in check in for your room and your requirements specified to understand the reason behind the delay, also on the service and food in the bar on the evening. Once again I can only say this is not the normal service that we provide, we do hope this was only a one off situation at the time which will not reoccur again. Thank you for feedback and only hope we get the opportunity to prove a much more pleasant experience again at The Ramada Plaza Belfast.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Property: Crowne Plaza Belfast
Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing