We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“not impressed at all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel Belfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Belfast
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not impressed at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

well having worked hard all week and wanted to take the wife away for a nice night away from home with a few friends, we found this hotel had it all wrong... Staying in a lot of hotels every year on weekend breaks i never got treated as poorly as i did last weekend.. The Hotel had a function on up the stairs, and even though nothing to do with the down stairs bar, when we got settled into are room which to be honest was grand we met up with our friends in the bar and at first we were refused drink. I was then asked to prove i was a guest, then told there was no hot food been served, after finally reassuring the member of staff i was a resident we were then served are drinks in plastic cups. which is a joke to be honest from a 4 star hotel, being that hungry we all went for a sandwich which was on the menu for £4.50 each when we ordered 3 came to the table with no napkins salt pepper etc etc and we had to looking for the other one about 10 minutes later when all the rest of us was finished, the food to say the least was very poor (my child could have put up better) i could maybe see past this slightly if the bar was packed with people but seen that there was about 12 people in the whole place and 4 of them was us....all i can say it was poor. After been told when we went to book a table for 4 in the restaurant for that night, that they were not going to open it, i was ready to explode... we then needed to book a taxi into town to get food, on our arrival back we where then told we could not get a bottle of wine back to the room on room service by a member of staff who looked down on you as if you where a child and was on a complete power trip... i dont think i will ever stay at this hotel again or recommend it to any of my clients or friends in the future....very poor standard all round. this hotel has it all wrong

Room Tip: dont stay in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Plaza Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Hollie 2002

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we are very disappointed to learn that you encountered a few service issues at this time. It is objective to maintain a high standard at all time within our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the standards failing on this occassion and would very much appreciate if you directly contact myself, or the Deputy General Manager regarding this. Thanking you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    409
    191
    86
    64
See reviews for
381
334
40
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

my husband and i stayed just the one night at the Ramada Plaza in Belfast as we went up to see the Titanic Experience. The hotel is a little way out of the city centre but although the staff were friendly the room we were given was in a freezing cold little corridor on its own. If it had been for more than one night we would have looked for a change. Although lovely, i found the hotel cold and lacking soul but the resturaunt however was excellent and we had a beautiful meal and the resturaunt staff were also excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank geraldine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Plaza Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Geraldine m

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We very much appreciate your comments and sincerely apologize for the heating not being turned on in your room. All the heating can be controlled in the rooms and set at a comfortable temperature for our guests arriving to the hotel, however this was missed on that day. We are delighted that you found the Green Room Restaurant excellent, thank you for your nice comments on the beautiful food and excellent service from our staff, i do hope this counteracts for part of your stay with us. We do hope you will consider to stay with us a gain in the future, please make contact directly with our team to ensure we can provide the best accommodation and service on your next visit.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had two rooms here, both were large, clean and what you would expect. We checked in without prior booking, I asked for B&B but were quoted for room only so it seemed quite good value; it was only when we went for breakfast we realised that it was room only and breakfast was extra. Second night the hotel had a function on and other guests were rowdy until 05.30. Food was good and so was the service. Poor wifi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Plaza Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ian G

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We very much appreciate your comments that you have mentioned in your review, depending on the rate available or selected at the time, we will follow this up with our front of house team on your reservation that you made on the day. We do hope you found our accommodation comfortable and to your expectations during your stay. However we apologize for the disturbance of noise you encountered by other guests on that evening and can ensure this is not a regular occurance in the hotel and hope this does not hinder you returning back for another stay in the future. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future assuring you of the best attention at The Ramada Plaza Belfast

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Following our weekend break, i feel so relaxed and ready to go again. Rooms were lovely..VERY comfy bed so had an amazing sleep. Enjoyed Jacuzzi and Pool. But the gem was by far the green room restaurant, food was so tasty and served promptly. Staff went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our experience was a good one. I want to congratulate these men and women for all their hard work. Well done Ramada!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Plaza Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Claire C

Thank you so much for your kind comments during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities that the hotel offers and had time to relax in our leisure pool and jacuzzi at our LA Fitness within the hotel. We are delighted that you found The Green Room restaurant food tasty and service experience excellent on the evening great to know and we will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. It is always encouraging to hear our guest feedback as we are always striving to make it a very special experience, we do look forward to welcome you back again at The Ramada Plaza Hotel.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

A beautiful hotel. From staff, location, facilities, rooms, restaurants, health suite.. We experienced no problems through our stay. staff in the restaurant were particularly nice and very friendly. we requested a late check out which was no problem and also received a free drink eachAll were excellent. My friends and I had a wonderful stay and we would definatly stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs1982_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Plaza Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Debs 1982

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn that you and your friends had a wonderful time at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. It is encouraging to receive such positive comments as we are continually striving to make sure every guest has a very special experience with us. We are please that you would return to stay with us again in the future, we do look forward to welcoming you back again at The Ramada Plaza ensuring you of our best attention at all times.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked a surprise for my fiancé on valentines day the hotel were doing a valentines package of overnight stay, five course meal, late check out, breakfast next morning and use of pool and spa! Was first class, so good Infact we have booked it for our wedding reception

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisak1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Plaza Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Lisak 1982

I would like to express my thanks for your very kind comments during your recent stay at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are delighted that you availed of our Valantines Package and found it first class thank you so much, it will be a pleasure to give you a wonderful day on your wedding. We do look forward to providing that special day for you from all our team at The Ramada Plaza Belfast.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nites with Valentine's package. The room was nice and big with good coverage of free wifi. The swiming pool was well equiped. But the food was average. (maybe because of the Valentine's menu?) When you leave the hotel for the city centre, it was nightmare to turn right at a dual carriage way without roundabout or traffic light. Please improve.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guodong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Plaza Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guodong L

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay on Valantines night. We do hope you had a nice enjoyable stay with us and hope you found our facilities and surroundings comfortable at Ramada Plaza Belfast. We appreciate your comments and understand that we provide a special set menu on Valantines for that evening, however we have a full A la Carte menu with a wide variety to choose from on our normal evening with this being a promotional break we provide a set menu for our guests. Hopefully you will avail of our wide selection on another occassion we would love to welcome you back. We also appreciate you comments on turning right out of the hotel this can be hectic at peak times we understand the inconvenience this can cause at peak times.
Thanking you for your comments.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Belfast

Property: Plaza Hotel Belfast
Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Ramada Plaza Belfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Hotel Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Sha'ws Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, 2 onsite restaurants, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Plaza Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing