We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you have a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you are not travelling by car, this hotel is not cheap to get to by taxi. Rooms are large and clean however. Breakfast was the standard fare. Not very busy when I stayed so reception areas were a bit overscale...particularly the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear MFi Vienna

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us. We do hope you found your stay on this occassion comfortable and your accommodation satisfactory to your requirements. However we appreciate your comments on transport to various locations and journeys and the convenience of having a car is a advantage to some of our guests. We do hope on another occassion you have the opportunity to avail of our facilities in the near future. We look forward on welcoming you back to The Ramada Plaza Belfast.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Belfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've stayed at the Ramada a few times. Its outside Belfast, on the ring road. Its a little bit in no-mans-land, but there is a very nice riverside walk nearby if here during daylight. At night though, there is nothing of note but the Ramada. That means you are stuck here for dinner, unless you want a taxi to the city centre. The hotel restaurant is divided into an Indian menu and a "modern Irish" menu. The Indian is fine, if a bit on the mild side, but the hotel's version of modern Irish is poor. On the positive side, when I had an abysmal main course tonight (and it really was sooo abysmal that I actually complained - very rare for me to do more than mutter to myself), the maitre d' apologised and compped me the dish. So, poor chef, but better management. Plus, it was the first night of a new menu, so I'd cut the chef a small amount of slack for messsing up a very simple dish. Positives: the food at breakfast is decent standard, free parking, rooms are good standard 3-star, but not 4-star, a spa (never used, so no comment). Negatives: a bit out of the way for the price, the bar is lacking much sign of life and has poor choice of beer /wine

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Ellada

Thank you for posting your review during your stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback both positive and negative comments and hope on this one visit we will have another opportunity for you to experience some other selected dishes on our menus and for us to prove what the Ramada Plaza Belfast has to offer with our facilities and surrounding area. As you mentioned you had not the chance to explore all our options within the hotel, however we would love to welcome you back again assuring you of our best attention at all time.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a taxing day - I lost newly purchased gold bracelet at Giants Causeway (returned as some honest person handed it in) and then the 2 night booking at a B & B in Belfast turned to disaster. No one home after a long drive, called land line and mobile several times and then went for a drink to wait. As no call back, we decided to book in elsewhere. (Owner later called to apologise). Called Ramada and received very friendly and welcoming advice of price and availability from Christine McClelland. She had also helped book us in and was very helpful, professional and accommodating. Just what we needed after our day. The good service just continued with David Jackson in the bistro. David helped with sightseeing advice, where to eat in the city and how to get there. It's staff like this who make a difference in making a hotel stay memorable. We wanted to stay at B&Bs to meet local people but we feel we were made to feel at home with the staff here. PS room was very clean, spacious and high standard.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Wendy V

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are delighted to hear your lovely comments and that we were able to assist you with your booking at the time. As you mentioned you where received with a warm professional and helpful manner from our front of house team which was a nice ending to your eventfull day. Also we are trilled to hear that the high standard continued throughout your stay and that your room was spacious and cleanliness to your expectations. Once again its a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and will pass on your comments and hope to see you again for another memorable stay.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Everything about our visit was excellent. The staff were helpful and pleasant and the hair and nails were excellent too. Phillip in hair even did my hair for nothing when I removed my hat and that was at 8pm. Big thanks. Lady in nails was very friendly and good at her job, fixng a nail I broke on the wedding morning - big thanks. People on reception were very helpful especially Barry - thanks for being so helpful. Thanks from all family Lesley Bannister

Room Tip: we had king and queen sized beds for three people - excellent
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear lesle B

Thank you for your lovely comments during your recent stay at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. It is great to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us and your wedding was excellent on the day. We appreciate all your comments on how helpful our staff was and will ensure this is conveyed to them. We are glad you had the opportunity to use our health and beauty facilities during the stay which was delighted to hear proved successful for your wedding. Once again thank you so much for your review and do hope to welcome you back for another visit in the future.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent a few day in Belfast stayed at the Ramada Plaza , overall the hotel was fine for us , it has plenty off parking, we had dinner here first night , would not recommend dinning there, the bottle of wine was the best part of our meal .we were told it was a ten minute walk to the city , more like twenty five minute .

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground , this was quite
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Glynn6

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. We appreciate your comments both positive and negative during this time. Firstly we are sorry to hear you would not recommend dining for some reason! which generally we hold a good reputation for our food in our restaurants and have a wide choice to choose from. Gladly we are pleased you found the hotel fine and the bedroom nice and quiet for you during the stay. If there is anything we can do in the future to assist you in anyway to make a much more satisfying visit please do not hesitate to contact us. We do hope to welcome you back at The Ramada Plaza Belfast.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Room was stinking of smoke and really dirty blood on bathroom door didnt complain hadnt time too but was disappointed food was excellent breakfast was excellent lovely hotel but the smell is what we will remember.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Wallybb

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during you recent stay with us. Firstly may we apologize for the poor housekeeping standards that you experienced during your stay, this is certainly not our normal high standards that is provided within the Ramada Plaza Belfast. I can say that all our rooms are non smoking so we do not permit smoking in our bedrooms. Unfortunately you should not have been checked in to a room not sufficiently serviced to the normal criteria by our housekeeping department and can only once again apologize for this. However if this had been reported at the time we most certainly would have changed your room
On a positive note we are delighted to hear you found the food excellent and the breakfast excellent and thought the hotel lovely which was great to hear. Please do consider us on another visit and we will ensure you of our best attention at all times.
Thanking you.
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We (couple) stayed in this hotel in August 2012. Staff were slow and incompetent. Rooms were average, too hot at night and windows only opened a fraction. There are no power showers, simply a bath and a hose attached to the wall.

Also left a phone charger behind me in my room and had to pay £7 GBP for it to be reurned to me. Also got charged three different prices at the bar at different times of the day and night for the same drinks order.

Not very customer focused - more money focused. No clue as to customer service.

Food was nice - but there is no way this hotel can be classed as 4 Star!
Avoid at all costs. Rooms are too hot and hotel is too noisy to get a good nights sleep and rest.

Room Tip: Avoid. Rooms are too hot and hotel is too noisy to get a good nights sleep and rest.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear LindaN

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. It is very disappointing to hear that you encountered a few issues during your stay and that you felt it was not satisfactory to your pleasing. In order to understand some of your comments i would really appreciate if you could contact me to look at these further.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,941 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#22 of 44 in Belfast
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $122 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing