We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Mill Restaurant at La Mon Hotel
Ranked #244 of 1,044 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a stay at the La Mon, this was for work, I stay all over the UK and recommend this hotel for work or holidays. The room was fantastic, comfortable, and clean, the bed was massive I have never slept so well staying away from home (female on my own). The food, now I can not say enough or put into words how good this was, from eating in the bar area to the restaurant, value, quality, presentation, taste and choice is the best I've had out of all the hotels I've stayed in over the UK and Eire. The staff were so attentive, polite, friendly and made you feel like someone they had known for years.
The reception staff were so welcoming and very helpful, I also used the swimming pool and steam room, they got me a dressing gown so I could walk back to my room and shower there.
Bar staff were also very attentive and David look after my drinks as I sat in front of a warm open fire.
Can't wait to return in January 14. June Woodward stayed 18th November for 3 night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    30
    13
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Ate here on a Saturday night in the bistro and was very impressed. Food was very nice with a good choice and was well priced. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

To start I'd like to say I did have a nice time at La Mon- it just could have been a bit better.

To start my other half booked a deal with B&B and a 2 course meal via phone. He requested a confirmation via email and when he didn't receive one he rang back to request again, again no dice. We did get checked in ok, it just seemed strange not to receive a confirmation email.

Upon arrival the staff were friendly enough and I'm glad we upgraded to the premier room as I saw a standard room on our way to our room and it looked pretty below par to be honest. Also the premier rooms are out in the new wing which meant we weren't disturbed by wedding guests.

Out room was nice, a bit bland and generic to be honest but the bed was really comfy and the bathroom was nice and clean. Unfortunately room service had not provided new soap bottles and ours were all half used which was disappointing. The tea facilities were a bit off as well- enough tea bags and coffee for several cups each but only enough milk for 1 cup each. My real bug bear was that there was no water supplied which meant we had to go to a vending machine in the middle of the night.

We had a gorgeous dinner and the staff were nice but the menu was basically all variations of the same thing- a roast dinner but with either lamb, chicken or beef. There was also a supplement on almost 50% of the options which seemed absolutely ridiculous to me- why not just change the menu?!

The next morning I decided to have a bath but when my other half went to get a shower the water cut out half way through and he had I wait 2-3 minutes before it would start again- again disappointing.

Breakfast in bed was worth the extra £5 each and there was a great selection but we only got half a glass of juice and again not even a jug of water.

La Mon is in gorgeous settings and we did have a good stay- it just wasn't great and to be honest it definitely wasn't worth the money- there wasn't even wifi unless you went to the reception area!!

Helpful?
Thank TellyAddictTalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Never been dissapointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ive been to la Mon carvery, and restaurant quite a lot, and have stayed in the hotel several times.
The hotel is very nice, with a lovely swimming pool, gym, nice rooms etc.
We would sometimes go up for the sunday carvery dinner, which is always very good, a wide range of buffet starters, meats and vegetables, and desserts, never fails to dissapoint

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We love La Mon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have had several functions at La Mon and been to the carvery and I have always found the food very good and sometimes excellent. Staff have been helpful and friendly and I like the decoration, rooms and facilities. You could definitely do worse :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Restaurant at La Mon Hotel also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to Mill Restaurant at La Mon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing