We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Restaurant at La Mon Hotel

Mill Restaurant at La Mon Hotel
Ranked #244 of 1,040 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just lovely food. The staff were very good and the rates were very reasonable for the quality of the food and service. I can recommend .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaroiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    29
    13
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel but could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Recently stayed for a hen party. Hotel rooms were lovely, very spacious and clean. We were disappointed in the Shakespeare Restaurant and although we were a big group the service was very poor. None of the starters arrived at the same time. We waited so that we could all eat together and were told they were on their way but it took 15 minutes and our food was cold by then. The same happened for our mains and desserts. Food and service is normally fantastic and has been anytime I have previously visited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently stayed for a wedding. Rooms were lovely and the staff were great. My partner used the gym and pool. We were a little surprised that you had to wear a swimming cap and had to hire a used one for £1 but apart from that - couldn't fault the place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having previously dined in La Mon at a private function and been impressed, my husband and I did not hesitate to recommend the Shakespeare Restaurant for a recent celebration for friends and family. There were 12 in our group and we were shown to a nice round corner table. However we found that although the staff were very pleasant the food was very slow to arrive and I feel of a very poor standard. My starter of squid was quite not very well presented and the flavours just didn't gel. I ordered chicken which was dried up and served with a combination of sauces also dried up. The quantity was small but this would have been ok if the food was of a good standard. I didn't order dessert. Also when I asked for a skimmed Americano I was told they didn't do skimmed- unbelievable! There was a large wedding in the hotel but I don't think this is any excuse. La Mon get a new chef/ kitchen staff! I would not visit again !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andriana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Carvery a must !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My review is for the Sunday carvery which has been going for years and is just superb. Nothing much more than excellence can describe this gem.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlene&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Restaurant at La Mon Hotel also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Mill Restaurant at La Mon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing