We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burrito Time!”

Chalco's Mexican Grill
Ranked #397 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a fast Casual restaurant serving Authentic Mexican Food. We are known for huge portions, great service, and good prices. We make everything in house from our salsas, rice, beans, to our succulent Carnitas. We marinate our own meats and cook everything fresh. Come check us out and try some real Mexican Food. Located on the Lisburn Road, next to Ryan's Bar.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Burrito Time!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ten years ago people would have laughed if you had suggested going for a Burrito in Belfast, nowdays things have changed with Boojum making them popular in the city.

Chalcos is owned and run by a Mexican family who look after each customer as if a personal friend. The staff are friendly and couldn't look after you any better.

The food it's self is prepared quickly and tastes fantastic, a huge range to choose from as well as specials.

Very much recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    37
    9
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Underrated for how good it is!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I are loyal customers of chalcos and are always satisfied with service and quality. Never understood the hype of boojum especially compared to chalcos which have a hands down win! It only takes one trip to chalcos to win over the boojum heathens!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky5743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent burrito.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good service. Fast. Burrito decent, and portion was also good. Chili cheese fries not enough cheese, but portion was big enough for a main never mind a side.

All in all a cheap tasty meal. Not a restaurant, but not exactly the usual fast food.

2 burritos, 2 cans,1 chili cheese chip for 15 quid - not bad at all.

Would go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adoran45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still the best.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Such a difference between chain restaurants and family owned businesses. This place has it all. Taste, great prices, clean, and lovely staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice but could be better”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Has the usual Mexican menu, Burritos, Quesadilla, tacos etc .
Meats that they serve from the bain marie are all quite wet and then make your burrito or what ever you order quite soggy.
Which is a pity as the meats are quite tasty and all the fillings are quite good (except for the excess water to keep them moist i presume)
Will try here again sometime to see has anything improved but at the min Boojum rates higher.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalco's Mexican Grill also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Chalco's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing