We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big on taste but medium on cost”

Abacus Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #605 of 1,048 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
belfast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“big on taste but medium on cost”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our family group have eaten at this restaurant several times over the last year.Food is always good ,drinks reasonable and service very good.IWe have eaten at a highly rated Cinese restaurant at the nearby Stranmillis Rd but whilst the food,drinks and service are comparable the cost almost doubles which would in my opinion only be warrantedfor special occasions,so for me the Abacus is the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    6
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good but nothing special”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Family party of 6 on a Sat night. Good service and food was fine. No complaints but the whole menu was slightly bland. Prices were moderate and house wine was drinkable. Average but essentially ok value for money.

Helpful?
Thank AandAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very tasty but lacks atmosphere perhaps”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ate here as a group of 7 on a Saturday night and everyone enjoyed their food, no complaints at all! Nothing to rave about but very nice. The food is also not as greasy as some Chinese food can be which was good. only slight niggle is that we were seated in a large booth and felt a little separate from the rest of the diners which explains why we felt there was a lack of atmosphere. Though I also understand that this restaurant is used more often as a take away place. The service was particularly swift and efficient!! Oh and although the main course dishes are about £8 each we all had a main with rice and alcoholic drink(s) for !£15 per person so not bad value!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank triplady329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

If you want a Chinese in Belfast go here believe me! The service is great and the food is perfect. The spring rolls are fabulous and home made definitely one to try. Nice relaxing atmosphere and always has a good vibe at weekends. Also does takeaway food too but it is a bit expensive but totally worth it. The only annoying thing is that it is a bit hard to get parked anywhere near it but a walk after all that food isn't a bad thing!
Love this resturant .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Impressive all round”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nearly didn't go in due to the slightly off putting name on the door.. "Abacus Cantonese and European Cuisine", thinking it might be a 'jack of all trades, master of none'.
Fortunately, we bit the bullet and went in, and it turned out to be one of the tastiest Cantonese meals I've ever had.
All the food was fresh and tasty, and service was prompt and friendly.
If I lived in Belfast, I'd certainly be going back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abacus Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Abacus Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing