We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden indian treasure”
Review of Safa

Safa
Ranked #17 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Contemporary Indian cuisine, located on bank street in the heart of Belfast City centre. At Safa we offer authentic Indian recipes and traditional style of cooking. Ali takes great pride in cooking to order and grinding all his own spices so it really is the closest to Indian home cooking you can get. We also have a full bar and incredible wine list.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden indian treasure”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Its tucked away in a historic and characteristic Belfast lane, and it really is a hidden treasure! We popped in for lunch when out shopping (very handy) and had the lunch menu. The decor, atmosphere and service were lovely and the food even better! The lunch menu is great value and they have the best banjee's I've ever tasted! I saw an Indian family dining as well, if that isn't a stamp of authenticity, I don't know what is!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank rc1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    202
    78
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Safa is probably the best Indian restaurant we have ever visited! The whole experience was first class, from the polite, helpful, friendly staff to the restaurant itself beautifully decorated and then on to the food, In one word awesome! We will definitely tell any of our friends who decide to visit Belfast to go to Safa for and we will certainly return ourselves when we next visit wonderful Belfast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Ssuzie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I've found this restaurant thanks to TripAdvisor. If you are in Belfast you must go to Safa because the food is amazing! Service and prices are very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiorgyGiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a table for 8pm on a Saturday night based on reviews on trip adviser. Unattractively situated at the end of an alley we were wary of what we would encounter. The décor was pleasant and the welcome warm. Service was attentive and friendly. The meal was fabulous, full of flavours and well presented. The only downfall of the experience was the limited wine list which did not cater for drinkers of rose wine. That aside we had a great experience and will definitely eat in Safa again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArmaghMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food that even my Indian family raved about”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I took my four vegetarian Indian aunts to this place, which was a risk and they are very fussy in what they eat. It turned out to be one of their highlights of their time in Belfast.

The food was excellent, and included some new numbers such as the Mango Walla curry, which they had never heard of before (tip: it's quite sweet though, good to share around but a bit much if that is all you are eating). We were mainly served by a Portugese/Irish waiter who was extremely attentive and friendly (and cute!).

It was located in a central location but down a bit of a back alley above a popular but not very nice looking pub. (The oldest in Belfast, apparently).

But don't let that put you off, once you get inside it offers good ambience, good value for money and a slightly cheesy film soundtrack music, which kinds grew on me. We'd all go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safa also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing