We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Safa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Safa

Safa
Ranked #15 of 1,043 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Contemporary Indian cuisine, located on bank street in the heart of Belfast City centre. At Safa we offer authentic Indian recipes and traditional style of cooking. Ali takes great pride in cooking to order and grinding all his own spices so it really is the closest to Indian home cooking you can get. We also have a full bar and incredible wine list.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch at Safa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a great value for money restaurant which serves its lunchtime menu until 4pm. It is right in the centre of the city. It is very clean and the staff are most courteous and attentive. The food was extremely good, both looking and tasting fantastic. We will definitely be going back next time we are in the City. Would recommend it to anyone who likes good Indian food in a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    202
    78
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a great night, 4 of us, in this lovely restaurant.
The food is delicious and the staff are friendly and attentive.
I recommend the Pathia.
Thanks Safa, we'll be back soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank SconeMegamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulidia_70
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, Indian food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Safa serves simple and delicious Indian food. We went for lunch a few weeks ago and the lunch menu was great value for money.

It's located above Kelly's Cellars - a traditional Irish pub - so you can pop downstairs for a wee drink after your meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank ulidia_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First visit to Safa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a really superb meal in Safa. The flavours were fantastic and the spiciness of the food was delicately balanced. Presentation of the food was perfect and it was very clear that no artificial colouring had been used in the preparation of the food. Maybe some consideration could be given to the background music with the objective of enhancing the atmosphere. We would highly recommend this restaurant. We highly recommend Safa and when back in Belfast again we will most definitely visit this excellent Indian restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Corkybarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have eaten here twice, with many more times to follow. The location is brilliant right in the heart of the city, with good parking. The cleanliness and attention to detail is a welcomed treat. The staff at attentive without being over bearing and the food reasonable priced and is of a very high standard, well recommended

Helpful?
Thank Olwen101265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safa also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Safa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing