We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brings the history to life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Titanic Belfast

Titanic Belfast
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.33*
and up
Titanic Belfast Entrance Ticket: Titanic Visitor Experience Including SS Nomadic
Ranked #3 of 221 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Titanic Belfast visitor attraction extends over nine galleries, with multiple dimensions to the exhibition. Drawing together special effects, dark rides, full-scale reconstructions and innovative interactive features you will explore the Titanic story in a fresh and insightful way from her conception in Belfast in the early 1900s, through her construction and launch, to her infamous maiden voyage and catastrophic demise. The journey goes beyond the aftermath of the sinking, to the discovery of the wreck and continues into the present day in the Ocean Exploration Centre.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brings the history to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have to disagree with the reviewer who said it consists of several slide shows and photos, it is so much more. The museum starts by portraying life in Belfast at the time Titanic was built - this is done via exhibits, film, virtual people. It goes on to the financing and building of the ship. This part includes a ride around a mock-up of the hull so you can see exactly how it is being constructed. There was quite a lot of info to take in so we went on this ride twice (no queues luckily). After seeing pictures and recreated footage of the ship being launched, there is information about some of the passengers and crew on board. Then the stops at Southampton, Cove and Cherbourg and the people who had lucky escapes by getting off at Cherbourg. The sinking is shown on giant screens with sound effects and there are the ship's communication with other ships in the area. It is very moving and there are stories about individual passengers and crew. There is then a bit about the investigation and recommendations for maritime regulation. Finally you can walk over a glass floor, looking through to a film of the sea bed (taken by a camera in a submersible) at the actual wreck of the Titanic. Whole thing = amazing. We didn't bother with the audio guide and booked on-line in advance which gave a small price reduction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,231
    3,393
    1,313
    397
    223
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well done exhibition!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We expected that the exhibition only was about the horrible trip of the Titanic. But they managed to show the history of Belfast with the story about the Titanic. Really well done! And despite everyones warning, it wasn't crowded at all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank A and A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Ocean Exploration Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is probably N. Ireland's busiest attraction so it's best to book in advance, particularly on a Saturday. An adult ticket will set you back £13.50 and the optional audio tour is an additional £3. I wouldn't recommend the audio tour as it really just repeats what is already being said throughout the exhibition. Tickets that include the pump house have an additional charge.

The exhibition was a lot larger than I expected, taking me around 3 hours to 'quickly' see all of it. Depending on your area of interest, you will want to leave extra time for certain sections (you could easily spend a full day here). I found the ocean exploration section of the exhibition the most interesting, with detailed information about the work carried out by Dr. Robert Ballard. The section on Titanic's sinking is also quite moving if you take the time to stop and listen to the accounts of the survivors.

The exhibition makes good use of various types of multimedia but I don't feel it would be the best place for young kids as there are very few interactive activities, with most information presented in galleries. I would advise parking in the Odyssey's car park. It's a longer walk but will allow time to properly appreciate the area. It would also be advisable to buy your coffee, lunch or dinner in the Odyssey, as the cafe in the exhibition centre is expensive and extremely busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kpnutsni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“St Valentine's Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I attended the St Valentine's Night in the Titanic Room and I have to say that it was a wonderful event! The ambience, the food, the staff and of course the setting of the beautiful staircase were all exquisite, although not in the least bit stuffy! I was amazed at the standard of food and service for the price! £55 for 2 for a 4 course meal, tea/coffee AND a bottle of wine! All in all it was the perfect Valentines treat and I would highly recommend it for future years although my husband asked me not to in case we don't get booked in next year if it becomes too popular lol!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went in December 2012 with family visiting from Germany. The building looks impressive and car park were great. The exhibit was disappointing. Don't know what else to say except "They spent 80 million on that!?"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank rossmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Visitor Experience Manager at Titanic Belfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello and thanks for your feedback! I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us! We really appreciate the opinions of our visitors and we use their feedback to plan gallery refreshments and improvements! Thanks again for taking the time to review your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titanic Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Titanic Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing