We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good but place lacks a lot”
Review of Nouvelle Cuisine

Nouvelle Cuisine
Ranked #335 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
belfast
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Food good but place lacks a lot”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Always good good in here but that's where it stops. There is no warmth and you are made to feel like a number - mostly by the manager who is always around and needs a lot of training in customer service. Additional things like having to pay for water, being rushed to give order and vacate table all contribute to making it average. Shame really as food is good tho recently other local places are doing food just as good for much cheaper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angeltobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    19
    14
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“H2O a No-Go”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were given time to look over the menu but only told the special was no longer available and another dish not fully available once we ordered both of them. We then had to rush to pick something else whilst the waitress hovered.
We asked for a jug of tap water and were told they didn't do that! That's just ridiculous especially given that we'd just ordered 5 soft drinks at £1.75 per medium sized glass.
Our family of 5 had just cycled there on a very hot day and were very thirsty. I can't remember the last time I was in any restaurant, not matter how lowly or flash, where tap water was not given freely.
The food is pretty good but that's also a little overpriced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Richie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stopped in here for a coffee to feed my baby, but ended up having lunch when I seen the menu.

The food was excellent. The café is not very buggy friendly, but the staff were very helpful and I was accommodated and made to feel very welcome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvs2travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Left with bad taste!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had visited this restaurant for lunch during the recent spell of hot weather with some elderly relatives who were visiting from overseas. We had to wait for some time before being seated and this meant a long stand for 3 pensioners over 70 as there was limited provision for seating while waiting for a table. We were eventually shown to our seats but pretty disgusted that our request for a drink of water while we ordered was refused as apparently the cost of washing up after this was prohibitive. We stated we would order drinks after this and reuse our glasses but just needed some immediate refreshment but were denied. We had ordered over £30 of food but shown little appreciation for our custom. Their arrogant attitude to customers left us pretty disgusted and the food while acceptable doesn't overcome the bad taste left in my mouth when seeing how customers are treated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank numc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had lunch here today for first time on recommendation of a friend who was there too and it didnt disappoint on either food, value, service or atmosphere. Would recommend the lasagne which i had. Would go back...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nouvelle Cuisine also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Nouvelle Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing