We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best chinese in belfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welcome

The Welcome
Ranked #36 of 1,041 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 1982 by the then Lord Mayor Tom Patton, The Welcome Restaurant is the oldest family run Chinese Restaurant in Northern Ireland.
lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best chinese in belfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

i love this chinese... especially sitting in. such a relaxed atmosphere. brilliant staff... spotlessly clean. The foods great.... cripsy duck starter shredded at the table nice touch!!!! quite pricey when sitting in which is the only downside... a must for chinese lovers!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    25
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just back from having a lovely relaxing evening at the Welcome. A girly night out with plenty of catching up to be done. Great food and service, and no complaints from anyone! Will be back

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keengardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Comfortable chinese as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lovely food, excellent service and comfortable surroundings make the Welcome .. well, very welcoming...and it's not as pricey as you think. Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ah_holidays_perfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food though on the expensive side.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have been going to the welcome for years and we do love it however it can be very pricy for a family of five to eat there we usually just go now for very special occasions

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Still a great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I have dined here several times since my last review and whilst we were saddened to hear that the long term manager, Mr Lee, has retired I'm very glad to say that nothing has changed with both the quality of the food or service at this well established restaurant.
It was nice to see Mr Wong still has a hand in the business.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Welcome also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing