We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stay here again if I'm back in belfast!”
Review of Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Rectory
Ranked #3 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“I'll stay here again if I'm back in belfast!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really loved this place.I've stayed in lots of b&b's, but it was the 1st time that I had a good mattress! I knew I was going to arrive in around dinner so I ordered my meal the night before and said time I'd be there. Service was brilliant, I was starving and they brought up dinner within 10 mins, delicious! The couple running b&b were so nice and welcoming. I didn't go for ensuit so my bathroom was a little away from my room but I didn't mind as it was lovely, big and cleaned everyday as was my room.food was do delicious,i ended up eating dinner there 3 of the nights. I could keep talking old rectory but I think you get the message. I really liked this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanStaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    35
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
54
100
49
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the Old Rectory for two weeks while on business in Belfast. Could not have asked for a better place to stay - some of the friendliest, genuine, and kindest people you will meet, who will go out of their way to make sure your every need is attended to. The building and rooms are charming and the breakfasts are absolutely delicious (and big!) - try the salmon!

I would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genoajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our third stop on our Ireland vacation and well worth the wait! We were warmly greeted and taken to our neat and clean room. The cooked to order breakfasts were very delicious and were a great start to our long days of looking at the sites. Mary had excellent reviews of local dinner restaurants which helped us find what we were looking for. This is "the place to stay" when in Belfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Old Rectory Guesthouse is a real gem. Situated on the leafy Malone Road of South Belfast, it is a short taxi/bus ride into the city center. The house itself is beautifully kept and has a rustic old world feel. The hostess, Mary is very welcoming and helpful, making for a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast is a real treat with delicious home baked bread and the famous Ulster breakfast making a great start to the day. I highly recommend this guesthouse and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesdbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at the Old Rectory for a week because I was working in Belfast around the time that the G8 came to Northern Ireland. After seeing the website I expected something slightly pokey and old-fashioned - and I was pleasantly surprised. My single room was spacious, attractive, comfortable, clean and pleasant and I had a huge bathroom to myself - albeit down a corridor, which was the only slightly disappointing thing. Breakfasts were wonderful. The woman who seemed to run the place was always friendly and did her very best to be helpful and flexible, even though she seemed extremely busy.

Room Tip: If you want an en suite bathroom, worth saying so
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Informationisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My Wife and I stayed for one night for my birthday. Mary and the rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a beautiful room. The place was warm and friendly. We had a lovely breakfast.
I would certainly recommend The Old Rectory to anyone coming to Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpvalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

When we arrived at The Old Rectory, Mary immediately displayed her warm and efficient hostess skills by getting us checked in, showing us to our lovely rooms, making our dinner reservations for the evening and calling us a taxi. Beyond the hostess tending to our every need, the house had Victorian charm and our room was beautiful. I especially loved it because we had enough room for everything in contrast with so many places we had been prior. Our room was furnished with a loveseat for sitting or luggage, a desk for our laptop use, a make-up table for me and racks/closet for luggage....and most luxurious of all....a bed of comfort which lulled us to sleep like rocks not wanting to get up....except for the dangling carrot of knowing the most sumptous breakfast awaited our palates. The homemade raspberry and orange marmalade jams were a sensation and every part of the breakfast table was delicious...not to mention the made to order Ulster breakfast I had chosen. Overall, we found our 2 day/nights stay much too short! Belfast is a great city to visit and if going there, The Old Rectory is a brilliant choice! Definitely a repeat stay for us if we get the good fortune to make it back someday!! Thanks Mary!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
The Gregory
#2 of 48 in Belfast
550 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Harpers Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Property: Old Rectory
Address: 148 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 5LH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Stranmillis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing