We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sneaky night away from the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wellington Park Hotel
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I decided we needed a Saturday night off and took 2 of our friends to this hotel. We phoned round a few places and got a good deal on evening meal, bed & breakfast. We were upgraded on arrival to an executive room which had an upstairs. This was only an office not a jacuzzi unfortunately!
The rooms were perfect and well equipped with everything you would expect including a IPhone/IPod radio (take note other higher graded hotels because this should be the norm!)
We went down for dinner and we were the only table in the restaurant! This was at 8pm so prime time I thought. There was a band setting up out in the bar and a few tables taken in the bar but it was very absurdly quiet.
We left after dinner at 10 ish and went to the Eg and then the Bot as there was not much happening.
Breakfast in the morning was average with a buffet style. The staff were attentive and the food was good. A few school trips seemed to be the main customers.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenwjwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 817 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

From initial correspondence and booking, to the event itself this hotel is exemplary. The management staff are very friendly, approachable, helpful and informative. The facilities were excellent and the food was very tasty. The bar and floor staff were excellent and helped the night proceed very smoothly. Overall an excellent experience and I would highly recommend this hotel as an event venue or as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aodhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time in Belfast, found the Wellington Park on line and what a great find. Good location, could walk down main street to most pubs (The Crown) and restaurants.Clean large room with ample room in the bath. Great breakfest, they had it all. Located near Queens University. Would stay here again and recommend to all my friends going to Belfast.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is the 4th time we have stayed here and we will be back. It's hard to get a hotel
anywhere that will take a family at a sensible rate but the Wellington Park is always great value. It's central; parking is free and it's comfortable. Granted the bathroom could have done with a bit of a revamp but it was spotlessly clean, as was the room, so that's not even a complaint, just an observation.
The best part of our night has to have been the staff, they were courteous and friendly. A credit to the hotel!
A city hotel that offers good value for families, we hope to be back. Thank you to Malachy and his team

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garallie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

For the last 7 years we have used the Wellington Park hotel as a venue for our local church to meet every Sunday. We have now secured our own venue and are sorry to say goodbye to all the staff. Every member of staff from the porters to managers have been absolutely superb in how they've looked after us. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they have gone far over and above what would normally be expected from a hotel. Thanks for everything you've done for us over the years, we so appreciate and will take with us many many fond memories of Welly Park hotel!!,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

recently stayed at the hotel on a business trip and found it be a decent enough hotel but the room I was in was a little tatty round the edges. They have stated in reply elsewhere that they have been renovating rooms for the last 2 years and only have 10 left to do. This being the case I hope I was in one which hadn't been done yet. There shoddy wiring on the kettle and the LED style lights which had just been chucked behind the headboard of the bed.

The food in the bar was very good and staff were good. Other people have said the Breakfast was good but I have stayed in many Hotels and this is probably the worst breakfast I had. The Sausages were labelled up as "local Sausages". The only thing local about them is they would have come from the nearest cash and carry !!!!!

Last but not least by any means the noisy neighbours - this right in the middle of student land and next door plus across the road are 2 very busy pubs/nighclub. So at 1pm and 2pm in the morning they students are either shout at the tops of there voices, falling out with girlfriends or urinating through the fence on your car !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Nick B, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Wellington Park Hotel. We take all feedback seriously and welcome contructive comments. Many reviewers highlight the convenience of our location in relation to tourist attractions and the city centre. The Hotel's car park, front and back, ensures that any street noise is minimised but, it's an area surrounded by great restaurants and bars which doesn't suit everyone.
The refurbishment programme is almost complete. We have checked your room and note your comments regarding the LED light which had come loose. This has now been mended and could have been done had you pointed it out during your stay.
Breakfast is frequently praised, both on and off line. All our food is locally sourced the sausages are from Northern Ireland. Yours sincerely, Helen Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

on our 3rd night at hotel and would recommend this place to everyone.

first off - lovely friendly staff. lounge area for drinks and dinner is so relaxing. loving it. the food is top class. bet steak my husband ever had :-)

rooms are really lovely. massive bed and great shower. what more does one need.

walked to town yesterday and took about 25 min but weather was lovely but got bus back as too many shopping bags to carry!

all in all this is our last night but will def be back here.

thank you Wellington park hotel for making our little break so enjoyable

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petalsrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,058 reviews
The Crescent Townhouse
#27 of 45 in Belfast
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $85 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alike. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing