We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W5

W5
Ranked #11 of 223 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went here with my 6 year-old son, it was £5.90 for a child and £7.90 for an adult.
We spent most of our time in the Start section which is aimed at 3 to 8 year-olds, http://www.w5online.co.uk/w5-information/what-is-w5/start/
We worked our way through the other areas fairly quickly and ended up back in the Start area again. My son was more interested in making things happen instead of understanding how things happen, down to his age..
But as an adult I found a lot of the exhibits/experiments quite interesting if I could get the time to stop and try!
We were staying in central belfast and got a 26/26B/26C from City Hall which dropped us a couple of minutes walk from W5.

I would like to go back there again when my son is a little older and would have more interest.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    208
    63
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great venue for kids and adults alike, we spent 5 hours in it and the kids still didnt have enough - we enjoyed it. It is good that it has designated area where you can take a break and have your own sandwiches/snacks. We travelled from Dublin especially to bring our boys here and they loved it. Adults need to be well rested to last throughout, the kids still had some energy left at end of the day. Premier Inn hotel nearby is the absolut ideal hotel to choose if you are staying over when visiting W5/Oddysey Arena or Titanic Quarter as its 5 min away

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DublinCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We keep coming back for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We never tire of W5! So much to see and do. No two visits are the same. Great when there are special events on. We went as a family for the Easter Egg Dinosaur races -- the kids had great fun. It's well managed and clean. Great toilet facilities. The cafe is ok, but there are facilities to bring your own and most people do eat their own picnics!
Great shop on the way out filled with pricey toys and momentoes.
It can get busy, but there is no time limit to your length of stay so go as early as possible.
Car parking is across the road at a reasonable price.
And afterwards when in the Odyssey Centre there are numerous restraunts, ten-pin bowling alley and multi-screen cinema to keep you going!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank roz667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A must see for the under 12s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

W5 is an interactive science / play area which is a must see if you have kids aged 3-12. It's part of the Odyssey arena complex which is just over the river from Belfast city centre so you could choose to walk it or catch a bus or taxi. Split over multiple floors it contains a large number of exhibits which kids can experiment with to learn about electricity, wave, wind, air, biology and the environment. The bottom floor has a gift shop and a few "vertical" exhibits including a smoke machine which blows rings high up into the air. The second floor houses the main hall containing exhibits that allow kids to make cars to race around a track, machines to fire air powered rocks, fly planes and much more beside. A commercially sponsored area on the same floor is for under 8s includes a pretend shop, play houses, rock stages, and a toddler area. The third floor features another hall with more exhibits, mostly focused on construction and puzzles. W5 also plays host to various exhibits which vary from week to week. You can easily spend 2 or 3 hours here without rushing since the kids will fly from one thing to another. It's well worth the visit and could be combined with a trip to the Titanic museum, or other activites in the Odyssey complex including bowling or various bars and restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HibTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Such a great spot for families, lots to entertain kids and even adults too. Fair prices and option to leave and come back same day.Will defo go back!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed W5 also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to W5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing