We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for the whole family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W5

W5
Ranked #10 of 218 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
N IRELAND
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great place for all the family, enjoyed it so much we got a season pass. There are loads of activities and sights for adults & kids alike. Very easy to walk around spend a few hours. There is a dedicated kids section which is designed to stimulate all there senses and my toddler has great fun everytime we go. There is also a nice cafe which serves tea/coffee, buns, sandwhiches etc. You can also bring your own packed lunch & sit in the designated area. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank normajean100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    191
    58
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good exhibitions, very interactive for children, my daughter really enjoyed playing on the kids area and did not want to leave. Value for money and informative for adults which is always a good thing. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful and pleasant. Would return and worth a visit especially if you have young kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank apkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“W5 an absolute gem for kids of all ages!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

W5 was around when I was a kid, and I remember my grandparents taking me and I loved it and the same can be said for my nieces and nephew (ages 6,8 & 6)! Every time they visit there are calls to go to W5 and it never gots old for them (of the adults)

Over 4 floors there are age specific areas for the kids to explore and places for adults to sit. It is educational as well which makes it even better! As you come in there are things to keep the kids entertained from the very beginning and then you can proceed up the musical stairs! The youngest play are has attractions such as a play Tescos, a play Mini, a house they can build onto and a water ball area (aprons provided)
The next one up is for the middle ranges (which my 8yo niece is into now but the 6's can still definitely enjoy) with a variety of scientific and fun things to do like mechano, tug of war, loading cargo ships with cranes ect.
The top floor is for older kids but the young ones will definitely want a play, this is alot of audio visual and interactive screens as well as weather presenting and clever camera/light tricks!!

Don't want to give it all away but there are literally hundreds of things to do and will always occupy a rainy (or sunny) day. 3 hours can cover it and if you get there at opening there shouldnt be much of a queue (Avoid if possible of school holidays or when school trips are likely to arrive)

The only downside is the cost but it is well worth it and there are family tickets available, and annual passes! Year round there are also different exhibitions so check the website!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

W5 is a great place for a half-day visit - the kids, and those not so young, find plenty of things to see and do in the multi-function attraction. It's an ideal place to visit on a wet wintery day - you will find the interactive displays hard to leave. The centre is also convenient to the main Odyssey Pavilion with food outlets etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWilz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

No matter what age you are there will always be something for u to do like w5 and so many places to eat amazing

Helpful?
2 Thank Beastcontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed W5 also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to W5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing