We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable day!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W5

W5
Ranked #8 of 210 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good exhibitions, very interactive for children, my daughter really enjoyed playing on the kids area and did not want to leave. Value for money and informative for adults which is always a good thing. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful and pleasant. Would return and worth a visit especially if you have young kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank apkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    182
    53
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“W5 an absolute gem for kids of all ages!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

W5 was around when I was a kid, and I remember my grandparents taking me and I loved it and the same can be said for my nieces and nephew (ages 6,8 & 6)! Every time they visit there are calls to go to W5 and it never gots old for them (of the adults)

Over 4 floors there are age specific areas for the kids to explore and places for adults to sit. It is educational as well which makes it even better! As you come in there are things to keep the kids entertained from the very beginning and then you can proceed up the musical stairs! The youngest play are has attractions such as a play Tescos, a play Mini, a house they can build onto and a water ball area (aprons provided)
The next one up is for the middle ranges (which my 8yo niece is into now but the 6's can still definitely enjoy) with a variety of scientific and fun things to do like mechano, tug of war, loading cargo ships with cranes ect.
The top floor is for older kids but the young ones will definitely want a play, this is alot of audio visual and interactive screens as well as weather presenting and clever camera/light tricks!!

Don't want to give it all away but there are literally hundreds of things to do and will always occupy a rainy (or sunny) day. 3 hours can cover it and if you get there at opening there shouldnt be much of a queue (Avoid if possible of school holidays or when school trips are likely to arrive)

The only downside is the cost but it is well worth it and there are family tickets available, and annual passes! Year round there are also different exhibitions so check the website!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

W5 is a great place for a half-day visit - the kids, and those not so young, find plenty of things to see and do in the multi-function attraction. It's an ideal place to visit on a wet wintery day - you will find the interactive displays hard to leave. The centre is also convenient to the main Odyssey Pavilion with food outlets etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWilz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

No matter what age you are there will always be something for u to do like w5 and so many places to eat amazing

Helpful?
2 Thank Beastcontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The bee's knees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The best science/discovery hands-on learning place for kids that we have found in the UK (not that we have been everywhere, but we have seen quite a few.) Easy access & masses of parking in the huge Odyssey carpark (at a price), just loads of things to do/play/fiddle with/watch, suited to a wide range of ages from toddlers to teens, covering science/engineering/environment/digital media/etc. etc. And the exhibits are generally in working order AND they change quite regularly - so you can keep going back. There is a separate section for younger children (under 8s, I think) which has an area inside for the tiny ones. There are also regular special events & exhibitions as well as the talks and demonstrations that take place in the galleries. The annual Star Wars day is unmissable if you have small boys or other fans in your household...
I think, however that the cafe inside is pretty feeble - especially as their primary market is kids and encouraging healthy eating should be a priority. The only things they sell that my boys will eat are Oreo cookies, chocolate & crisps! But they have a nice big area behind the cafe where you can eat a packed lunch, lots of lockers to leave it in while you are busy in the galleries - or there are masses of restaurants etc outside W5 in the odyssey complex.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PreservedKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed W5 also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to W5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing