We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place to sit a spell.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Anne's Cathedral

St. Anne's Cathedral
Book In Advance
$49.14*
and up
Belfast Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #39 of 218 things to do in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Magnificent St Anne's Cathedral at the heart of Belfast's Cathedral Quarter is a treasure trove of art, culture and music. Services take place four times daily, with a sung service most days. The Cathedral has a range of choirs, including a new Boys' Choir, with many members recruited from St Anne's innovative cross-community Choir School project. The Cathedral was consecrated in 1904 and extended over the years, with the eye-catching Spire of Hope added in 2006. Today, as well as being a sacred space and place of worship, St Anne's also provides a stunning backdrop for concerts, recitals and carol services. Inside its lofty interior are mosaics by Sir Charles Nicholson, and sculptures by Rosamund Praegar and Maurice Harding. The mosaics of Italian glass are by sisters Gertrude and Margaret Martin - the mosaic over the font is said to hold more than 150,000 pieces! St Anne's has spectacular stained glass windows and some very fine needlework, including the poignant Titanic Pall. Visitors can avail of a guide booklet and optional audio tour. There is a shop stocking original gifts. As St Anne's is the Cathedral for the City of Belfast, the Chapel of the Holy Spirit is free to visitors for quiet prayer at any time.
west yorks
Level Contributor
222 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit a spell.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice cathedral, nothing over the top. Losts of military colours etc. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. Informations material about the cathedral is available in a range of languages.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank callisto1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    119
    43
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
222 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The family church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My maternal grandparents were married in Belfast Cathedral. Both have long since gone - but is was comforting to think of each of them whilst seated in the cathedral. I also recalled memories from my childhood - of attending concerts and choir rehearsals within the cathedral adding to the importance of the building to my family history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Relentlessvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This cathedral was absolutely lovely! I found it simpler than some other cathedrals that I have visited but I loved that about this one. There was this one smaller room that had angels painted on the ceiling, amazing. We pulled in to the parking lot and completely missed the sign that said Saturday Parking £4 all day, rather we read parking £4 all day. When the bar wouldn't come up we rang the buzzer and the woman let us park there even though it wasn't Saturday, what a welcoming gesture! Definitely need to visit if going to Belfast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelCat1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Definitely worth a look inside, very peaceful and welcoming and the staff are very friendly too.

Great for architecture and photography students and adults.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Remembrance Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

An outstanding Cathedral, accessible and with several attractive features: stained glass is rewarding. Stewards are very helpful.
Remembrance Sunday Service was memorable with a fine Sermon, and the later performance of Faure Requiem excellent with the voice of a Boy Treble the best we have heard for many a year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiscovererEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Anne's Cathedral also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to St. Anne's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing