We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the atmosphere in this place”
Review of Grand Opera House

Grand Opera House
Ranked #9 of 226 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grand Opera House in Belfast is Northern Ireland's premier theatre, presenting a range of drama, dance, opera, comedy, musicals, pantomime, family and West End shows. Established in 1895, the theatre boasts the majestic Victorian main auditorium designed by renowned architect Frank Matcham. Extended in 2006, the original building has been joined by a striking addition to Belfast's skyline, The Baby Grand. The initiate studio is home to a smaller performance space with 100 seats. Northern Ireland's premier theatre delivers an outstanding programme of entertainment, playing host to some of the greatest names in theatre and music. The theatre boasts a wide array of popular shows; everything from opera and drama to pantomime, comedy and musicals. The Grand Opera House offers unrivalled corporate hospitality with tailored events packages and is the perfect venue for meetings, special events and conferences of all sizes. The historical theatre is one of the most unique conference venues in Belfast, catering for seminars, conferences, meetings and weddings for up to 130 people in the Baby Grand Studio. The Main Auditorium holds up to 1060 people and smaller meeting rooms are also available. The theatre bars stock a range of drinks including beer, wine and spirits, in addition to tea and coffee.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere in this place”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

There's something special about a night out in the 'Grand' Opera House. It's certainly not the biggest or best opera house in the would but there's something about it where you can feel the history oozing out of the walls. I don't care what I'm going to see, I'll always enjoy this little part of Belfast.

(Apart from the new part, I hate that)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    244
    54
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun in the city”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to see 9 - 5 on the 19th June, the evening started with a lovely pre theatre in the restaurant, good choice, excellent staff and prompt service. Enjoyed the fact that our table was available to us for the whole evening so our pre ordered interval drinks were waiting on us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“High society - a brilliant night”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I took my 7 year old daughter to this show an we had a wonderful evening. Staff were exceptional, and show was one of the best adaptations - thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A friend and I went to see Hairspray the musical in the Opera house in Belfast. What a way to spend a Saturday afternoon. We drove to Portadown and then took the train to Belfast. The Opera house is beside Great Victoria Train Station so the train is so convenient and no worry about parking or driving in a city. The Opera House is a magnificent building both inside and out, we were so impressed with this theatre. We had a light lunch first which was delicious. In the evening the Hippodrome Restaurant opens two hours before the evening show and serves a pre-show dinner. The show was brilliant a real feel good show with everyone on their feet. There is lots of restaurants around the Opera House and the Europe Hotel is beside it if you wished to extend your visit to Belfast. This is a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon so enjoyable and relaxing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank connolly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestone-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cluedo & dinner - Baby Grand Studio”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Brilliant time. We were slightly dismayed by the background information sheet given to us when we arrived. We have ever been to an event like this and the sheet felt a bit like homework! That said we thoroughly enjoyed the evening which exceeded our expectations. It was great fun, and we only wished that we lived in Belfast so that we could go to other events. Food was very good. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roslyn105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Opera House also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Grand Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing