We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfast Central Library

Belfast Central Library
Ranked #76 of 221 things to do in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Public Library. Belfast Central Library Opening Hours: Monday: 9:00am - 8:00pm Tuesday: 9:00am - 5:30pm Wednesday: 9:00am - 5:30pm Thursday: 9:00am - 8:00pm Friday: 9:00am - 5:30pm Saturday: 9:00am - 4:30pm Sunday: Closed on Sunday
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“well...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

the building itself is ok, nice and old. But the book collection is pretty poor and in number and quality. On top if you want to take a movie, you have to pay, isn't there lovefilm for that?

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sophietheblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Great architecture pity it lacks books!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Belfast Public Library is a superb architectural example of a Victorian public building. It has recently had major restoration works carried out, to return it to its former glory. It has regularly changing exhibitions in the entrance hall and a well equipped internet suite. Unfortunately, with the exception of a decent collection of local books, it is a bit of a disappointment when it comes to the actual variety and quantity of books on display.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
338 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,167 helpful votes
“Heroic amounts of books”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I'll confess that the first time I ever went here they put my nose out of joint. I sat at a computer, only for someone to pretty much shout at me. Turns out I needed a password and stuff; well there's no need to raise your voice - just let me know!
Beyond that I became a regular visitor. Their collection had books I could not find anywhere else. They're not out on display; you look them up, then go ask a librarian to go find it for you. My obsession at the time was for books on the sculptor Barbara Hepworth. You'd be lucky to find one in any other library; they had a whole set. Excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steveodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“treasure chest of irish history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

anything you want to read or find out, you will find it here!! Staff are very knowledgable and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Tina_Mc_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“disappointing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

the staff - although pleasant are not particularly knowledgable . The building is quite impressive though the recent renovations are at odds with the original architecture. The collections are reasonable but really i wouldnt go out of my way to go here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belfast Central Library also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Belfast Central Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing