We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel cheap but probably not worth the value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnie's Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hostel cheap but probably not worth the value”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The location is great right in the vibrant university area which also a very safe area. The hostel is small and there isn't too much privacy in the toilets. Breakfast is not included and therefore the hostel is not worth its value. Wiifii and Internet usage is free. There is a very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Or M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
6
9
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

What a wonderful hostel experience! Clean place, incredible people and a host-with-the-most! Arnie's was one of the best hostel's I've ever stayed in. Free wifi, a computer to use, blanket and pillow provided with free tea and coffee! Arnie helped us book a bus tour of Northern Ireland and advised us on the hot-spots! Great time!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jenpikard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Not a fantastic place to stay to really enjoy what the city has to offer. There were a bunch of college students that had rented a room to party until quiet hour (11), but then you could hear them running up and down the stairs all night.

The staff was super friendly, but perhaps too much so as they let in a drunken Brit who stumbled from his bed only to pee all over the bathroom. Luckily we were sharing the room with this guy!! Although thanks to the staff we were at least able to switch rooms.

The location is great though, and if you're only in town for one night and able to get an entire room you might be alright.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
paris
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

this is a good value for money youht hostel : location is good, price is low and it is not as big as others, which makes it friendly, as well as the cozy common room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramdam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The staff is friendly and the kitchen nice BUT the presence of bed bugs really ruined our stay. Cleanliness is deficient.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gab_qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed 2 nights as a family in a 4-bed room.This was the worst hostel of our 16 day Ireland round trip. Why? Negatives: Room small, no shelves or hooks to put stuff, toilet tiny and not clean, shower tiny with black moisture and not clean, house very loud (you can even hear the guy in the room above yours turn around in his creaking bunk bed ...), not very well organised staff (we had a visitor in our room at 01 am on our first night who had been moved to another room and didn't know about it). Positives: Staff in attendance are really friendly. Internet on hostel desktop computer available. It's not their fault, the house is just too old and needs complete refurbishment!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-EllenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Arnie's was no frills, I showered in a room just off of the kitchen, but Arnie was sweet and the place was clean. My pillow didn't smell like feet (which happens a lot in hostels) and from what I could tell, everything was kept clean regularly. They'll hold your valuables for you, but the place doesn't seem to attract the scum of the earth, so larger items you'd worry about but not think to hand off were totally safe there. They've got dogs, so allergy sufferers beware, but they're sweet dogs and small, so nothing to be afraid of otherwise. I got a great Internet connection there, but I don't know if it belonged to them or not. It's just well located, right outside of the hustle and bustle, but close enough to walk for dinner at night alone and not be afraid. At one point the common area was closed for a yoga session. I was more upset I didn't know about it than I was that the common room was occupied. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat, and I stayed in Bed and Breakfasts most of the time I was in Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brlsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,277 reviews
Golden Mile
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Queen's Quarter
Paddy's Palace Belfast
Paddy's Palace Belfast
#23 of 31 in Belfast
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnie's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnie's Backpackers

Property: Arnie's Backpackers
Address: 63 Fitzwilliam Street, Belfast BT9 6AX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the friendliest and cosiest hostel in Belfast! Its a safe, clean, 27 bed, city centre hostel. Free WIFI & tea/coffee. Be greeted on arrival with tea/coffee & biscuits and relax in front of our warm coal firesWe have a lovely kitchen, dining-room, lounge and garden open to all visitors. Along with Free WIFI we have internet access available on our in house computer. This is an environmentally friendly establishment as we recycle. You might be lucky enough to meet the jack russell dog that often visits! Feel free to use our in house piano and guitar. No curfew or lockout.Our friendly staff will do their best to make you feel right at home. Feel free to ask for any information about tours, travelling, and the local area. Arnie's is the ideal place to explore the culture, nightlife, shops and entertainment in Belfast. Tours of Belfast and Giants Causeway from the hostel and lots of info and advice!!We provide a full kitchen and common areas kept warm by real coal fires, along with radios and a television/dvd player. We also have laundry facilities available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Arnie's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing