We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Location was it was not too bad, close to the train/bus station, about a 10minute walk to the main city square....
The older guy on reception was a little grumpy, but we still managed to have a great time! brilliant new facilities, enough computers for being able to check the internet.
beds and rooms were comfortable. Good that they have lockers too!
Kitchen was big and well equipped plus the fact that there was a diner on top of that was really great.
i would go back again when in belfast.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 591 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

We had a tiny room with bunk beds and shared bathroom, but expected that and price was reasonable in comparison to some other places. Room and bathroom was clean. Close to restaurants and takeways (lots of choice) and not too far to walk into city. Good secure parking. Reasonably friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

bang smack in a stauncly loyalist area.quite scary cos i speak with a southern irish accent.no question of popping to the local for a pint! hostel very nice,but the kitchen keeps ridiculous hours!no cuppa after 9pm.mad.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chucken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Well, I've been to this hostel after reading reviews in this same page, and I haven't been disappointed. Rooms are simple but nice, the cafe downstairs is fantastic for breakfasts and take-away lunches and the staff is quite helpful. Any bad point? Well, sheets may be a little cleaner, and there's a pub opposite it where customers are rather rowdy- they kept me awake most of the night! But all in all, it's a nice place to stay. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lunasfingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Basic, yet comfortable. The youth hostel is at a very convenient location, not too far from the main Europa bus stand (15 min walking). Check-in was quick. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm room with attached bathroom. Beds were clean and so was bathroom. They have internet facitlity and breakfast in the mess (paid). The only problem that happened was that they closed their main entrance quite early in the night (11 P.M.) on saturday. We came back and found it closed. Had to spend quite sometime knocking the door trying to wake someone up.

But all in all- a very reasonable and cheap place if you want a 2-3 day backpacking trip to Belfast.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sagvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I really hate these 'super' hostels....you know the ones...the ones with about 600 beds over 6 or so floors. The staff are always rude and only interested in taking your money. When you ask about a daytrip or for directions, they can barely contain their frustration with...wait for it....doing their job. This hostel is no different. Stay at Arnies round the corner...bit cramped....but at least you will feel welcome. This place is awful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italyfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed here in February for the first time. Wasn't sure what to expect as there are some strange reviews, but we thought the place was fanastic.

We stayed in one of the new Twin Rooms, the room was very clean, and nicely decorated with an En-Suite Shower Room. The room was very tastefully decorated in cream with one feature wall in a bright colour which matched the Duvet etc.

Reception areas were immaculately maintained, and we regularly saw staff cleaning, mopping and hoovering etc.

The Reception staff were both friendly and helpful, and gave us great information on where to go and what to see around the city. The Hostel is located at the South side of the city centre, and we were able to walk to city hall and the shopping area in exactly 10 minutes, also the main bus station is about 7 minutes walk too.

We also had breakfast in Alans Causeway Cafe located on the ground / reception floor. We weren't expecting much from a Hostel Cafe, but we were blown away. The menu choice is virtually never ending, and they cook all the food while you wait just how you ask. The Cafe is also fantastic value for money given the standard of the food served. The staff are friendly, and chatty too, and seem to take pleasure and pride in serving everyone. There is also a selection of vegetarian and vegan food (my girlfriend is veggie and had lots of choice).

We did try another couple of places for lunch and dinner etc, inc Maggie Mays as it had been recommended on here, but the service was slow, food was much more expensive and not a patch on the Causeway Cafe, and their staff weren't that friendly it felt like they were doing us a favour serving us ....so instead stick with the Causeway Cafe, it definately should be your first port of call, and its in the same building, so perfectly handy. The cafe isn't owned by the Hostel, but is is run very professionally by a nice team.

We booked a tour to the Giants Causeway with Allens Tours directly across the road from the Hostel, their bus even picks up there too. The Hostel let out an office to another Tour Company (Minicoach Tours), but their staff were far from interested in us booking, and treated us like we were a complete nuisance, we also heard other people who had booked their tour complaining and their staff being very rude to them so DON'T use them, Allens Tours was brilliant, fun, and cheaper too.

The Hostel also has their own free car park, which given its city centre location is a huge bonus. Its also totally secure with electric gates.

Other aspects include a laundry (we didn't need to try it), Internet space with wireless which is chargeable (But all the Belfast Hotels charge for it too, so for the cheap room rate, you can hardly expect free internet!), Games room with some games machines, and they even had board games and cards which we were able to borrow, other than that it was big and spacious with lots of areas for lounging.

Hygiene, cleanliness, friendliness, and value for money seem to be their thing. We have stayed in other Hostels around the world which have had more charm but far fewer facilities. We definately felt like Hotel guests rather than Hostel guests, but obviously it isn't a 5 star hotel (so you can't expect get all little touches of towels, soaps) you need to bring your own toiletries, towels, etc, but thats a small price to pay for a lovely room at 1/4 of the price of a Hotel in Belfast.

We also heard some people in agroup talking about their conference facilities, which we didn't see, but a bonus for a hostel. When talking to the staff they were also saying about doing free walking tours soon too.

Well sorted place, and yummy grub, lovely city. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulclarke1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,429 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,114 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#11 of 41 in Belfast
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: $19 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belfast International Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from both Belfast City Hall and Queen's University, and close to both the Europa Bus Station and Botanic Train Station. The hostel has a range of rooms, from group dorms to doubles, some with ensuite shower/toilet and some with shared facilities - so something to suit every budget. The hostel has free WI-FI in the common areas of the ground and first floor, free left luggage and good-value laundry facilities. The Causeway Cafe on the ground floor serves up good value grub and McCombs Coaches (based at the hostel) offers Game of Thrones and Giant's Causeway tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing