We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Reviewed August 6, 2013

it was located in an ideal space, it just a few minutes walk to the Europa bus and rail station. there are several shops to do your grocery shopping, which is great because the hostel provides a self service kitchen for all their guests. the staff at the hostel are also very friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean, so you can relax, and the atmosphere at the hostel is also very relaxed, so you can get to make friends with other travelers. all in all i would say i had a very happy stay at the hostel, the staff were more than happy to suggest sights to see and the adjoining causeway cafe at the hostel had some fabulous selection of breakfast and lunch to help you start the day right

Room Tip: the 4th floor which is reseved for 23/24 sharing dorms are quiote comfortable and good value for mon...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mercy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi Mercy S!
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Your feedback is vitally important to us as an organisation and it is fantastic to hear when we get it right! I totally agree with you re the top floor dorm rooms - I believe these to be our hidden gem as their size often puts visitors off! Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Belfast International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 574 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice handy location. We had a nice twin room with a view over the roof tops and out to the countryside. We had an ensuite, basic but everything was clean and the beds comfortable. I loved the fact that there was a lift and no struggling up the stairs with our luggage. Staff were very helpful. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi Valerie!
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Feedback from our guests is really important to us. It's lovely to hear that you appreciated the view of Belfast from your room, at night time it is particularly special when the City is lit up in all its glory! We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Take Care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hostel is great for the price. It's location is perfect, five minutes from the city centre & shops. Loads of bars/clubs & places to eat close by & also the Botanic gardens. I've stayed here several times & always find that the staff are very friendly and helpful. The actual bedrooms are very basic but clean & if you are not expecting the ritz you'll be fine. The rooms are clean & you get fresh sheets to put on the bed, I normally pay a bit more for an ensuite room but this only works out £5.00 extra per person. The hostel is safe as you can't get up in the lift/stairs unless you have a card, the Entrance to the hostel is locked at night time & you aren't allowed in unless you are actually staying there, the guy that does the nightshift makes sure of this. If you choose to stay here go to the Hostels café as it's breakfasts are delicious.

Room Tip: I normally pay a bit more for a twin ensuite room but this only works out £5.00 extra per person &am...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHLEEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hi Kathleen!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! It is lovely to see that the efforts our staff put in to ensure our guests security and safety have been appreciated and most importantly your return custom speaks volumes. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Quiet neighbourhood, really near the city centre, you can easily walk to the Belfast City Hall. Romms aren't very big but they are clean. There's a private parking lot, so you don't have to leave your car on the street. Staff is friendly. Breakfst is served at the bar next to the reception. A continental and tasty breakfast is served. Price per night is good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenaprimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi Lorenaprimon!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel so favourably. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Good luck and best wishes for all your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a good location, in that it's only ten minutes walk to Queens and 15 to the city centre. The road it's on is a bit sketchy but we walked home at around 11:30 pm and it was fine. our twin room was a good size. walks and doors a bit grubby, but we were provided with clean sheets and towels. The main issue was the noise-every door that closes can be heard all night long and the elevator PINGS throughout the night. There was also quite a lot of traffic noise from outside. Not ideal.
The staff were lovely and really helpful to direct us to good pubs in Cathedral Quarter..

Room Tip: Might be possible to get a room away from the street? if so, definitely go for it. And also AWAY fro...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi Martha!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you found our City centre location convenient, however as you have pointed out this sometimes means that there is road noise outside the hostel. I very much hope that this didn't disturb your sleep too much! If you are ever visiting Belfast again we would love to have you stay with us again. Feel free to contact the hostel directly and they will do their very best to accommodate you in a room at the back of the hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here recently couple of days back. Hostel rates are cheaper compared to other accommodation available in the city. Can be considered if staying in en-suite rooms. Nice reception area. Access by cards. Bathrooms are not maintained nicely. Luggage room available free of charge. Overall it is average property but price is reasonable. Best part is it is near to city center and botanic station, which is on the street full of restaurants. Mc Comb's tour office and Causeway cafe (very nice) is located inside its premises.

Room Tip: Go for en-suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi KPJ!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Feedback from our guests is extremely important to us. As an organisation we strive to ensure our guests expectations are met. I am delighted to hear that you found our central location convenient and that you considered your stay to be value for money. I do apologise that you didn't find our bathrooms to be of high enough standard, our housekeeping team do work extremely hard to ensure that our facilities are maintained and presented in an acceptable manner and I am disappointed to hear that this was not the case for you.
If you are ever back in Northern Ireland, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will do everything I can to ensure you have a stay which excels your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. What to say:
The positives are they - they have an amazing cafe with really friendly professional and chatty staff (even giving us directions and recommendations of sightseeing). They also offer Free Wifi in the cafe, and its very fast. The range of food seems never ending something for everyone. They even had special offers for food which brought their good value prices even lower over a holiday period when most places put their prices up...so goon on you Causeway cafe. I believe the Cafe isn't actually owned by the hostel though, which speaks volumes!

The Hostel reception area is impressive when first arriving although it soon becomes apparent its all a bit institutional and a bit shabby with photocopies signs stuck up with tape, and burst open chairs that the staff sit on behind the desk, the reception office door is usually open and it looks like a jumble shop.

The Hostel area doesn't have the lively or friendly vibe of the Cafe.

The location is excellent no more than 7 minutes walk to the Europa Station and only a couple of minutes walk to Botanic Station. I think no more than 10 minutes walk to the city hall.

The facilities are good with TV Lounge, Laundry, Internet and being honest a nice building.

The hostel staff could only be described as unenthusiastic, with poor customer skills, half the time its was hard to find anyone working there as they seemed to have wandered off in boredom.

The room was bright and clean, trying to be up to date up not quite hitting the mark. The en-suites are good, clean, but could be more pleasant with more thought put in to them.
In my opinion this could be a really good Hostel, we would return (this is my second visit), its got the potential to be great if someone could apply a bit of enthusiasm.

Room Tip: If I could rate the cafe it would be all 5's Go for a front or rear facing en-suite room, our f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulclarke1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi Paul!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Feedback from our guests is vital for us as an organisation going forward so we know what we are doing right and also what we are doing wrong.
I'm delighted to hear you have such a fabulous opinion of the Causeway Cafe- Alan works very hard to ensure all of his customers leave satisfied and his food is indeed gorgeous!
With regards to the hostel and hostel staff, I am very sorry to hear that not all aspects lived up to your expectations. Many of the recent reviews we have received highly praise our reception staff and their customer service skills and enthusiasm. I can only apologise that this was not your own personal experience. I am however glad to hear that you would return and please do not hesitate to contact me if you do decide to visit again as I will of course be delighted to be of service and to ensure that all of your personal requirements are looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,366 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,941 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: $17 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belfast International Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from both Belfast City Hall and Queen's University, and close to both the Europa Bus Station and Botanic Train Station. The hostel has a range of rooms, from group dorms to doubles, some with ensuite shower/toilet and some with shared facilities - so something to suit every budget. The hostel has free WI-FI in the common areas of the ground and first floor, free left luggage and good-value laundry facilities. The Causeway Cafe on the ground floor serves up good value grub and McCombs Coaches (based at the hostel) offers Game of Thrones and Giant's Causeway tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing