We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Here is really friendly staff. And the rooms are nice, quite basic hostel beds. Shower and toilet were ok. Very peaceful hostel when I stayed there 1 night. I had nothing to complain! I especially want to thank a little bit older, professional man in reception. He was really great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaS994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIYH, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our Belfast Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience- especially with our reception staff. We aim to provide all our guests with a first class service and I am so glad you received this. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    186
    127
    67
    30
See reviews for
40
109
142
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Standard hostel experience really, staff were friendly and the secure car park was very useful as not sure the neighbourhood is somewhere one would park an Irish registered car given we watched some locals painting Union Jack colours on the kerbside out the window of the room!

Wifi worked intermittently, the shower was a bit on the cold side but it is a hostel after all.

Cafe was fine for breakfast & the location was very good for the city. I'd certainly stay there again but would try and get a room not facing the street.

Room Tip: Try to avoid one facing the street or else bring ear-plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIYH, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our Belfast Youth Hostel. I'm sorry to hear that you found it a bit noisy - unfortunately being in a city centre location, near to all local attractions, means that there is often noise from outside which we have no control over. I hope that it didn't disturb your sleep too much and that we can welcome you back again in the future, doing our best to accommodate a room at the back of the building!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hostel is truly disgusting and nearly ruined my impression of Belfast.

-The hallways smell like pish.
-The rooms are very small and dingy.
-The bunk beds are quite possibly a health and safety hazard. They- squeaked and heaved back and forth with every movement.
The mattresses were covered in thick plastic, then a gross sheet. (Maybe) clean sheets were provided in a plastic bag to place over the bottom one and under the gross duvet.
-To be fair, the pillows were quite nice.
-The bathrooms and toilets are SHOCKING. The showers are literally grimy with black mold. I actually felt dirtier after using one.
-No soap in any of the toilets. NO SOAP. Seriously.
-The hostel itself has a boring, cold atmosphere.
-The staff wandered about watching everyone trying to enforce unrealistic rules. For example, My friends and I were enjoying a bottle of wine before dinner in the lounge area and we were told we had to go to the dining room or our wine would be confiscated.

There was some drunk guy yelling and banging in the hallway off and on for a what felt like an hour. Other guests at the hostel had to deal with this. I know it's not the hostel staffs fault the guy was a drunk, but they should have been the ones to handle this.

I woke feeling horrible, dirty and unrested. This is an awful state to be in before exploring a new city on a rainy day. I had a hard time shaking off this vibe. Luckily, I returned to Belfast to try to change this and stayed at an AMAZING hostel (the best I've been at!) called Vagabonds which is just up the road from this awful place.

Belfast is a lovely, fascinating city. Just stay away from this dive.

Room Tip: Go to Vagabonds instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyRevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIYH, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. It is unfortunate that you had this experience whilst at the same time as your visit we have had two excellent reviews. Perhaps you could call me (Cathy) at Head Office on 02890324733 to discuss your points further? Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Terrible plastic wrapped creaky beds. Grumpy old man staff who told us he would confiscate our wine. Gross slimy showers. No soap anywhere to be found. Just don't stay here if you want to enjoy belfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank str1pes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIYH, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience. With regards to confiscating your wine - we have a strict no alcohol policy beyond ground floor/ reception; this is because we have a large number of school groups who stay with us and we take our duty of care to our minors very seriously. If you would like to discuss this further please call me (Cathy) at Head Office on 02890324733. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This wasn't the best hostel that I've stayed at, but it also wasn't the worst. Pros: located not far from the downtown area, cool cafe downstairs, helpful staff, great value for the price. Cons: Two person rooms are very small (though I stayed in a 6 person room the next time and it was much bigger), showers not very clean (bring flip flops!!), no free wifi, the beds were not very comfortable and the sheets weren't fitted properly and kept coming off. I would consider staying here again, though there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarra34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIYH, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our Belfast youth hostel, your opinion and feedback helps us to improve our service and offering for the future. I am delighted to be able to say that since your stay in Nov 2012 we now offer FREE WI-FI in public areas of the hostel. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the bed to be uncomfortable - we have just installed new mattresses into the hostel so perhaps if you return sometime in the future you will be able to make use of these improved facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in this hostel for only two nights but I have to say that I'm glad it didn't been longer.
Not because I didn't like Belfast, I did, but next time I would choose some other hostel.
This one needs good renovation. Only the entrance with the reception desk, internet room and restaurant looks good but rooms are very small, dirty, with old furniture (bunk beds and something that appears to be closet but it's falling apart). Bathrooms weren't cleaned this two days I've been there and showering there was the worst shower experience ever.
We got sheets in plastic bag, like there were washed, but despite that, they were old, with holes and hairs all over them, so including the pillow and cover, this was just "great" to sleep at. :-/
This hostel does have a reasonable price so that's ok. Also, it is on great position, near city center and everything, it's big enough, so it would be great if they would do something to improve it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeReila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIYH, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you would return to Belfast and that you were impressed by our central location, reception area and onsite café. However, I want to personally apologise that you were disappointed with our rooms and quality of our sheets. We use an outside firm to launder all of our linen so I am disappointed to hear that they fell below acceptable standards and please be assured that this will be looked into. We very much value you as a guest and would hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went for St. Pattys day with 4 friends, book 3 different rooms. Rooms smelled of urine as soon as we walked in, shower is just a nozzle in the bathroom, door rotted at the bottom. Staff at the fron desk were not friendly, bed was really uncomfortable, no free WIFI. Also in a sketchy area, but close to city center. However, the restaurant connected was awesome, people were friendly, and had great food. Averyies bar was pretty cool though around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 164MarcoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIYH, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for celebrating St Patricks day with us; Your feedback is very important to us and helps us to improve our service moving forward. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience during your recent stay with us. Please forgive the inadequacies in housekeeping that you encountered during your stay and please be assured that this will be looked into and rectified immediately. We have just introduced free WIFI into our Belfast hostel and I apologise that you were not able to avail of this during your trip. On a positive note, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our onsite café and that you found the people of Northern Ireland friendly and welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Property: Belfast International Youth Hostel
Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belfast International Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from both Belfast City Hall and Queen's University, and close to both the Europa Bus Station and Botanic Train Station. The hostel has a range of rooms, from group dorms to doubles, some with ensuite shower/toilet and some with shared facilities - so something to suit every budget. The hostel has free WI-FI in the common areas of the ground and first floor, free left luggage and good-value laundry facilities. The Causeway Cafe on the ground floor serves up good value grub and McCombs Coaches (based at the hostel) offers Game of Thrones and Giant's Causeway tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing