We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here last year. The dorms are clean and there are plenty of showers, also a washbasin in the 4 bed female dorm which was great. Hostels don't always have that. The breakfast in the cafe is excellent value, though one big downer is no kitchen and no social centre for people to gravitate to. It really isn't for you if you want to talk to people. It's instituitional, not so good for solo travellers, but fine for groups. The location is good but there is a noisy club next door. That and the lack of a kitchen put me off staying here on my next visit to Belfast and I went to Global Village which was very good and much quieter.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 587 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Dorms are very clean with white sheets wrapped in plastic bags. There is a superb breakfast served every morning in the cafeteria. The staff is very helpful and nice, and the location is ideal to visit the city centre or as a starting point for a tour to the Giant Causeway (tours usually depart from the hostel entrance on a daily basis).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RikaSasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This place has seen better times and is in need of refurbishment. Overall, it's just a bit grubby.

The best thing is the location - right in the centre of Belfast by Shaftesbury square (near bars and takeaways). Service is a bit grumpy - no fun, excitement or passion.

I've stayed here a few times (because of the location) and the rooms are a decent size but a bit prison like and 'cold'. They need livened up! Get some vibrant colours and new furniture!

Showers have always been hot but again, these need an injection of colour.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pros

-Great location
-friendly staff

Cons
-lack of bathrooms on each floor
-bunks are kind of old and not too comfortable

The lobby and kitchen are nice and modern. They have an cafe where you can purchase meals. The food is so-so for the price. I was just here one day as part of the Shamrocker tour. They charge for the internet its like one pound an hour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The location kind of is hit or miss (but I found Belfast a bit confusing to get around). The area looks a bit shady, but I didn't have any trouble getting around at all. Overall, I had a decent experience here. The room was incredibly tiny though (4 bed mixed dorm), and with 4 people crammed into a hostel room with large hiking bags, it can get tight. There was a ridiculous rule of no outside food after 10pm, which is foolish. The bathrooms were alright (relatively clean, no complaints), but there didn't seem to be enough of them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I booked a twin private. The sheets were dirty there was an iron burn on the carpet and the bathroom taps didn't work properly. My friend and i tried to get into the hostel later that night and as we had only 1 room key with us the staff member would not let us in and said he had to check our ID. He slammed the door in our face and made us wait in the street. When we eventually got in I asked him why he wouldn't let us wait in reception. He said is was a rough area. Save yourself the trouble we had a never use this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odonnellk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Belfast International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi Martha!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you found our city centre location convenient however as you have pointed out this location means that sometimes guests are bothered by road noise - I do hope that it didn't disturb you too much and that you managed to get a good nights sleep! If you decide to visit Belfast in the future please do not hesitate to contact the hostel and we will ensure that you are accommodated in a room away from the main street.
Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Me and my friends stayed in a private 4-person ensuite room. It was more less what we expected, room was clean&spacious enough, minimum of furniture, which means 2 bunk beds and a trash bin. Beds were good, linen clean.
The bathroom was quite big, but definitely missed a hanger or something to put your stuff on when you take a shower. And washing your hands was a biiig challenge... the water saving push-to-see-the-water tab only gave water when you kept your hand on it pressing all the time. So one hand at one time, unless you have a friend ready to keep pressing it, so that you can use both hands to rub in the soap...
You need the room key-card to get to the lift and go upstairs plus there was an additional doorlock in the room, so it felt quite safe.
Self catering kitchen and the dining area are quite big, they were not too crowded during our stay, but it was the middle of the week. But lacks in kitchen equippement are true.
Each staff member we met was very helpfull and friendly. I was surprised to see bad reviews as it did not happen to us.
There is a private car park in the back yard so it was very convenient.
Overall I would say it is an acceptable value for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,416 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,058 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast International Youth Hostel

Address: 22-23 Donegall Road, Belfast BT12 5JN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: $16 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belfast International Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is the biggest in Belfast and the only one affiliated with Hostelling International. It's a short walk from both Belfast City Hall and Queen's University, and close to both the Europa Bus Station and Botanic Train Station. The hostel has a range of rooms, from group dorms to doubles, some with ensuite shower/toilet and some with shared facilities - so something to suit every budget. The hostel has free WI-FI in the common areas of the ground and first floor, free left luggage and good-value laundry facilities. The Causeway Cafe on the ground floor serves up good value grub and McCombs Coaches (based at the hostel) offers Game of Thrones and Giant's Causeway tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Belfast International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfast International Youth Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing