We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Good - Food however has gone downhill - bad value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Ranked #8 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Service Good - Food however has gone downhill - bad value for money”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Popped in for lunch on Saturday as we have done many times. Arrived about 12.40 to find only two other diners in the lounge!! Anyway ordered the Cheeseburger with chips and a Pensioners Special of Roast Chicken, ham, stuffing etc.

Service very good all the staff are lovely. Didn't have to wait too long. Pensioners special was small in fact it looked totally lost on the plate. Don't get me wrong there was enough on the plate but a smaller plate would have made it look more appealing though the verdict was that it was alright.

Cheeseburger not much to say really - pretty tasteless to be honest. Have to say do not like their chips anymore - bigger than normal chips and the ones I had looked too well done for my liking and tasted the same.

Have to say been going to Ivanhoe for many years but going by my last experience I won't be back. Staff are good but the poor quality of the food let it down big time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook100, Manager at Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. It would appear that you have visited Ivanhoe on more than one occasion and have been happy with our food. We can only apologise that you did not enjoy your experience this time. We will certainly be taking your comments on board and correcting these matters which you have highlighted. Ivanhoe has been very popular with regulars and passing trade for many years and always has had a high standard of cuisine. We have recently received our award for 5 out of 5 for score on the door and take our presentation and delivery of our food very serious. Again thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and we most certainly will be addressing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    97
    51
    24
    21
See reviews for
121
83
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The reason for my stay at the Ivanhoe was for the location due to family residing nearby. To be honest, I was not expecting much for £70 per night and I was very pleasantly surprised ! The hotel room had a modern vibe in comparison to the hotel exterior. The best thing about my stay at the hotel was the bathroom facilities, there was large power shower in the bathroom, which was a nice touch. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good, I would most definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmsrmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tyrone Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

business trip one night

staff very friendly and helpful........room comfortable and clean.. staff at reception gave excellent customer service ..explained re breakfast etc "call if you need anything " ..

restaurant food delicious ..wholesome and plenty ..staff helpful and friendly

breakfast ..not huge selection but sufficient.. again staff looked after me throughout which made it all ok

would recommend and will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, Co Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am a true believer in you get what you pay for and I paid 70GBP for 1 night in this hotel, it was a breif stop before we headed to the airport and that was all I would have wanted.
The hotel is simple, relatively clean and the staff are very friendly however thats about where it stops, there is no character, the rooms are basic, not particularly comfortable and there were people screaming and shouting at 03:00, this is more of a Motel than a Hotel ok for a couple of nights if on business or a stop over but dont spend too long here it will depress even the happiest of people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My first room had a view of the kitchen roof top complete with the on/off buzzing of an extractor fan; blood stain on one of the beds not changed despite daily housekeeping.
Breakfast on the first morning was serenaded by the chef whistling loudly in the nearby kitchen; little choice for breakfast - I had a greasy fry and stewed coffee.
Breakfast on the second morning, there was cleaning of the glass doors going on right beside me; breakfast came on a plate that had been through the dishwasher so many times the surface was scratched and rough.
I asked for a room change and was promptly given another room - that had another extractor fan right outside - seriously?! There was also the sound of dripping water, also kitchen noise of plates clattering and again chef whistling.
Internet stopped working - phoned reception and no-one picked up, tried again shortly after, the first lady on reception was good but when I phoned 2 hours later the second lady was abrupt and obviously couldn't be bothered.
Breakfast on the third morning, coffee was poured from a hot jug and got half a cup, when I asked for a refill the guy took my cup into the kitchen to refill - ?; a chef came out and instructed how the room was to be laid and that then started around me.
Reception staff do not acknowledge guests, no customer service.
I emailed reception 3 times and no response back at all.
When I went to reception to check out early and explained the above the only reaction was to print off my bill - 2 reception staff present and neither bothered to try and resolve.
Rooms are nice and modern but staff are not hotel staff, they have no idea.
No response needed from the hotel please - too late.
NITB - this cannot be a 3 star hotel.
Wish I had of read tripadvisor before I booked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissBushmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a comfortable stay at the Ivanhoe. The room was spacious and neat with a good breakfast. The place is a bit far from the city centre, but has ample and free car parking. All in all, very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingskv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is a great place, friendly reception staff, friendly helpfully staff in the restaurant, good clean rooms and nice Guinness... Nuff said!
Don't be put off by the main road, the rooms are on the back side so really peacefull.

Room Tip: Also close to an Indian if you fancy a change for dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevaDave27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,282 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 44 in Belfast
697 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel

Property: Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Address: 556 Saintfield Road | Carryduff, Belfast BT8 8EU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Belfast suburb of Carryduff only a 15 drive from the city centre and close to George Best City Airport and the harbors. This property is situated on the A24 which is the main route to Newcastle Co Down where you may visit the beautiful Mountain of Mourne areas or Downpatrick to visit St Patrick's grave and continue onwards to the beautiful Strangford,Lecale areas. The hotel has 29 outstanding en suite rooms with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and tv set. Wifi is also available throughout the building. The newly refurnished restaurant is open from 7 am right through to 9.15 Pm each day and 8.15 Pm on Sundays. The hotel has two public bar areas and comfortable out door areas for you to dine or enjoy a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing