We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights whilst visiting family and were really pleased, so clean and comfortable.Our room was enormous and spotlessly clean. I have to say the housekeeping staff should be very proud. Staff were very keen to help out and Joanne helped us to print return flights. Ruth at breakfast was lovely and chatty making sure we felt at home.
We have stayed many times in hotels in the centre of Belfast and been disappointed with level of cleanliness and service yet paid much more than The Ivannhoe. Thanks and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank louxloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    97
    53
    24
    21
See reviews for
122
84
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Visited the Ivanhoe for lunch.....just fantastic! The staff who looked after us...from the 'front desk' until we left were so kind, helpful, polite.....just can't say enough about them! The Bistro was very busy (good sign!)....still loads of room though! The Dining Room was closed but the staff opened it to give my mum a little more room, as she uses a wheelchair.....this was just brilliant as it meant she didn't feel in anyone's way! I can't say enough about the Ivanhoe....except to say...visit it...soon!! Super menu...with excellent choices to suit all tastes and not expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kissy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel probably half a dozen times and have just booked my next stay. For value for money it cannot be beaten. The newly re-vamped rooms at the front of the hotel are beautiful, spacious, clean and well laid out. The bathrooms are very modern, large and well supplied with towels/shampoo/bodywash, and hand cleanser. All of the staff from young to old are professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a great selection of cereal, fruit, toast, and cooked breakfast menu aswell. I have eaten on an evening in the restaurant, although this was over a year ago now, I chose from a 'saver' menu and the meal was adequate in size and nice, though there was perhaps room for improvement. There is a very large car park and it takes around 10/15 mins drive into the city centre and is on a main bus route. The only negative is if you happen to get one of the 'newly refurbished' rooms and it is iver the bar/function area, it can be noisy!, not a problem if you are in the bar or function obviously but as I stay there for work it can be disruptive. One time I stayed there the man behind reception actually told me he was allocating me a quieter room as there was a function on which I thought was very thoughtful of him. The hotel is on a busy main road but I have never found traffic noise a problem as it appears to be well insulated from the road. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, hence my return time after time.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjwagdomEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We live locally and we have regularly been to wedding receptions there which we have no complaints about and we have been going to the restaurant for years and the food is superb and not very expensive - all popular dishes offered.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Omaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Bit out of town towards Carryduff but was ideal as I was not there to see Belfast city. Having said that buses would run frequently to town.
Room was large, bed big and very comfortable. Minor complaints was that the tv was small and on low stand. I could not find any digital channels. Then I discovered that you had to run the water in the shower about ten minutes before water is hot, this was in room 201 but those in different rooms had no bother..
Bathroom with shower in bath was spotless and had soap shower gel etc provided.
Evening meal was tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast had grapefruit, some fresh fruit, juices, choice of cereal, and yogart to start. Then full irish fry or other cooked eggs etc. plus toast and drinks. Could not be faulted. Reception staff very pleasant and big free car park outside.
There is a bar plus sitting area around reception.

Room Tip: Others said the rooms at front had road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

myself and my husband stayed here for just one night. a saturday night. the hotel itself is lovely and the staff were very helpful, courteous. The food was also fine. My only problem with the place was the noise. There was a disco or party going on and it was like we were in the middle of the room with them. i did go down to reception to enquire as to what time it would be over, and while the receptionist was sympatetic, there was nothing really she could do. so my reason for writing this review is to just warn people to check with reception if there is a function on before you book . if we had had the children with us it would have been way worse. of course if you are attending a wedding or function at the hotel then it would be fine but if you are after an early night, well better to check first.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Warm welcome, excellent room, staff excellent, food well cooked.
Very well priced, lots of parking.
No complaints, will be back.

Room Tip: road at front can get very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highlandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,300 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,532 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Wellington Park Hotel
#30 of 44 in Belfast
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel

Property: Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel
Address: 556 Saintfield Road | Carryduff, Belfast BT8 8EU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Belfast suburb of Carryduff only a 15 drive from the city centre and close to George Best City Airport and the harbors. This property is situated on the A24 which is the main route to Newcastle Co Down where you may visit the beautiful Mountain of Mourne areas or Downpatrick to visit St Patrick's grave and continue onwards to the beautiful Strangford,Lecale areas. The hotel has 29 outstanding en suite rooms with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and tv set. Wifi is also available throughout the building. The newly refurnished restaurant is open from 7 am right through to 9.15 Pm each day and 8.15 Pm on Sundays. The hotel has two public bar areas and comfortable out door areas for you to dine or enjoy a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ivanhoe Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing