We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but a bit rough all round...”
Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madison's Hotel
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed here as had a party in the Hotel. It was a small bar/restaurant with two sittings for a set xmas meal.

The hotel has rooms that sit over a night club...of sorts... so to stay here is to put up with all of that. But as we were here for that, it wasn't a problem. It is about 15 minutes walk into the main shopping area of Belfast and aout a £5.00 cab fare, so quite central. It is also almost opposite the NI rail station Botanica - and that can take you to Bangor and elsewhere. So it is central, but if you stay in Hotel especially at weekends then you will see security bouncers running around because of the night club. For this rooms that are worth the money. Pretty sub standard decor and duvets/pillows for the £85.00 per night - not worth that. Also heating goes off and you are left cold if like when we were there it was sub zero. The staff, however, are wonderful, and friendly and helpful and make this place something. Plenty of happy people checking in and out so doing something right.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 801 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

My hubby and I stayed in Madisons one night because we were in Belfast to see Peter Kay. The "Deluxe" room was a special rate of £60 because it was a Sunday night. The hotel does not have a car park so all parking is in the street which is free, depending on where you park. The reception area is quite small but nice. We were over 2 hrs early for check in but the receptionist firstly checked to see if our room was cleaned. It wasn't so we headed into town for a couple of hours, which is probably about 10-15 mins walk. When we returned, the staff had taken our bag and clothes up to our room for our arrival. On first impressions the room was nice but not what we'd call a deluxe room. Our room overlooked the main street but it was quiet (prob cos it was Sunday) and we slept well. The facilities included a flat screen TV with Sky, complimentary water, chocs and toiletries, hair dryer, safe, mini bar, seating area, free Wi Fi, king size bed, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and breakfast in our room was included in the price (normally £3.95 each, I think). There was plently of room and storage space. The room was very clean, however on closer inspection there was a lot of cosmetic work needing done. A lot of the surfaces had drinks "rings" on top and the bedspread had some very odd stains underneath. The bathroom hot tap had no pressure, the bathroom in general needed a total overhaul. There was bare plaster on the ceiling where they'd changed the extractor fan, there was a hole where one of the downlighters was and the bath fittings looked quite old. You could also see where tiles had been replaced. There was also wood veneer peeling off from under the sink and bits of skirting board were missing. If we'd paid the full rate for this room and were staying more than one night we'd have been seriously annoyed and would have complained, although we did put these issues on the comment card. This room is marketed as deluxe and I think if it had a wet room and perhaps fresh flowers and fruit it would have felt more so. Some of the wooden furniture needed an overall too. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very good and the waiting staff were excellent. There was also a cocktail happy hour. We had a cocktail each before our dinner and when the bill came the cocktails weren't included. We mentioned it when we paid for our bill and the restaurant manager gave us them for free because we'd been honest, which was nice! We had breakfast in our room the next morning and it was very good. We asked for it to be delivered between 10 and 1030 and it was delivered at 1000. The choice for breakfast was a full Ulster fry with eggs either poached or fried, toast, orange or grapefruit juice, tea or coffee and 4 or 5 cereal choices. The issues with the room would not put us off staying again as the staff were excellent and very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

this hotel is terrible, went with my sisters, jennifer on reception was lovely but that was it, rooms were not clean, i wouldnt draw the curtains because they were so dirty i didnt want to touch them, the tv had no reception, the toiletries were limited which didnt matter because the water in the shower was coming out sporadically and wouldnt warm up either, didnt opt for breakfast which, on seeing this place, we were glad about, the walls were paper thin and there was a christmas party for young ones which we were not warned about and they were making noise all night long, i dont mind christmas parties, thats grand, but tell me about them and give me the option of deciding whether to book or not, wouldnt recommend it at all

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquiohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Me and my mum stayed here for one night as we were down to see the lady gaga concert! the room was immaculate the only thing was the tv was not working very well. The staff were very friendly especially colleen and the turkish guy behind the bar :) the band that night was brilliant and the nightclub was good fun. The breakfast the next day was delicious and the breakfast times were very suitable. wish we had of booked in for longer and will definately be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xLaurenMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed at Hotel for two nights, Hotel very clean,
Food good, Staff totally brilliant - so helpful
nothing was too much trouble for them.
We are going back for 4 days over the New Year

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The food is excellent and the staff are so friendly and helpful that I didn't want to check out - I wanted to move in!! If I wanted to I could be picky and find minor problems with things like the TV reception and minor bathroom repairs not finished perfectly but for the price (£50/night) it was excellent. I WILL stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hovrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I booked a 1 night stay with dinner. Receptionist very friendly and welcoming. We arrived a few minutes early so room was being cleaned but we were brought coffee while we waited which was all of 5 minutes. Upgraded room with bowl of fruit and water. Clean, spacious and welcoming. Dinner was very good . Wine prices very reasonable. Breakfast next morning was served in our room. The room overlooked the main street so it was a bit noisy but expected as the hotel is located in the centre. We were pleasantly surprised by Madisons. What we liked best..the friendly staff, what we liked least........only booked for 1 night!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartlepoolChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#27 of 45 in Belfast
485 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 45 in Belfast
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Address: 59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $40 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 en suite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing