We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madison's Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night last year with a friend of mine. The room was spotless so thumbs up to the housekeepers. Everything about the hotel was brilliant, I Definitely would reccommed it, and I will be back. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1krissy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    228
    112
    58
    51
See reviews for
52
321
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed here as we were going to a concert in Belfast. room was standard. breakfast the next morning was in the bar of the hotel. the waiter was older and didn't appear very friendly. he more or less through the hot pot of tea on the table which proceeded to spill out of the pot onto my leg. which burnt my leg. didn't even get apology from him. he was rude. not much of a selection of continental breakfast. the cooked breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Belnash festival in February, cannot praise this little boutique hotel enough! Friendly staff, lovely rooms, beautiful bar and gorgeous food in the restaurant. The location is unbeatable for a show in the Empire music hall, it is literally straight acros the street. Great value for money and only a £4 taxi from the Europa bus station

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishgirl185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at Madison's Hotel last Friday evening (13th September.) From the moment I arrived, the staff were so welcoming and couldn't do enough to help me. The location was perfect with nearly everything in walking distance. I thoroughly enjoyed my evening meal and the staff were so efficient and extremely friendly. I would highly recommend that anyone staying here visits the bar on a Friday night. The cockails were fantastic and the service next to none. I will definately be choosing Madison's for my next stay when I visit Belfast.

Room Tip: There is something to suit everyone at Madison's. The room I stayed in was quiet and very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed on a sun night and availed of the stay and dine package. There was a drunk in the bar who was dealt with quietly and professionally by management. Cocktail happy hour from 5-9 was great - good selection and tasty. Every member of staff was very friendly and helpful. At dinner a couple of items were unavailable due to 'a menu change' but in fairness equal or better alternatives were offered in return. Dinner was cooked well one of the few places our steaks have actually come rare, and was very good.
The room was clean, although a little cold given the large windows and the radiator didn't work when we tried to turn it on. The room was a large size, comfy bed, good bathroom and there was a little street noise but nothing that interrupted our sleep (but it was a sun night).
Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
237 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hideously loud bar area at night pounding music and sometimes pounding live bands. A so called premium room and this is what we got. A complete joke. Avoid at all costs unless going to bed at 2am is the norm for you.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here as a couple on Sat 31/08/13. We did expect the location to be noisy at the weekend, and this wouldn't have been a problem for us. However, prospective customers really should know that the bar/restaurant area on the lower floor gets extremely loud and lairy at night.

We had a friendly welcome. The building/rooms were scruffy and a bit worn, but generally to the standard of a budget hotel. However, the advertised WiFi did not work at all.

We went down to the restaurant/bar area for a drink and meal. Even at 5pm there was already a group of noisy lads. When we went to a table, we found that many were dirty and a chair, which had obviously been slashed at some point by one of the night clientele, had been left like that, stuffing hanging out and the seat covered in slash marks. This basically sums up the tone of the place in the evenings. Our meal was bland, dry and partly inedible. Fortunately we had arranged to spend the evening elsewhere - I would have been very disappointed if we'd booked their "Couples" package!

However, when we arrived back at the hotel we found the hotel bar and street outside packed with loud drunks, and the atmosphere generally like a stag night. We bypassed the bar and went up to our room, to find it uncomfortably hot - no air conditioning - but opening the window exposed us to the noise of the mayhem outside. We spent an unpleasant night, punctuated by the sound of shouting, swearing and banging on neighbouring room doors.

In the morning I realised there was a bloodstain (not ours!) on the duvet cover that I hadn't noticed the night before. We ordered breakfast in our room, which arrived with several items we had ordered missing (no coffee, no milk for ordered cereal), and others just the wrong item (apple juice when we'd ordered grapefruit). To finish it off, we had to avoid a puddle of vomit left uncleaned on the carpet on our way down to check out.

The reason I haven't given this only one star is that every staff member we met was polite and friendly. I would recommend this for a stag night, and pretty much nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Dukes at Queens
#14 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Property: Madison's Hotel
Address: 59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 ensuite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing