We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great January offer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison's Hotel
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great January offer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked the hotel very last minute when hearing about their January deal.
B & B for £40 per room per night.
The staff as always (would go to bar / restaurant quite often) were professional and really friendly.
Once I dropped my bags in the room I went downstairs to the bar for a couple of drinks.
Their cocktail offer is VERY popular and I was waiting at least 20 mins to be served (a few students each ordering 4/5 cocktails can really take time!) This was slightly irritating and I think maybe one member of the bar staff could serve people who are looking "regular" drinks that take no time at all to serve but still cost more.
The room was looking out onto Botanic Avenue and although the bathroom was maybe a little tired it was spotless. As it was mid-week (and January) there wasn't really any street noise but at weekends I would say it would be a different story.
There are a lack sockets in the room which can be a pain if you wanted to charge your phone but keep it beside you for an alarm.
After a lovely sleep the breakfast the next morning was great - I ordered off the menu (due to dietary reasons) and there was no problem at all.
I cannot fault this place for their service, location and price - I wish I could treat myself more often!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    219
    99
    52
    39
See reviews for
47
298
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I do spend a bit of time researching hotels (mainly using TA!) before booking so my reviews have tended to be very positive about places I've stayed. Madison's is no exception. I've stayed there several times which says something in itself - rooms have always been very clean, spacious and well appointed. There's free internet, an excellent bar and restaurant and good location (particularly for Queen's University). Staff very friendly and helpful. According to locals the bar can be quite lively at the weekends (students!) which might be an attraction or the opposite according to personal preferences. I've only stayed during the week and not been disturbed by noise even with a room over the main entrance. Considering the quality, room rates are very good value - try it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear would possibly be quieter particularly at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlothBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited the restaurant for our work Christmas lunch on what was probably the most popular day for works outings. We were a party of 26. To be honest we didnt have high expectations as Christmas lunches tend to be hit and miss.

What a very pleasent surprise we got!

The service was 1st class amd the food was fabulous. All the meals were served piping hot and given that we were such a large party, we were all served at the same time. No one was left eating one course while the next was being served as is sometimes the case.

Only one person in our party complained that they didnt enjoy the food but I think that was more to do with they made the wrong choice rather than the food not being good as other people had ordered the same food and had no complaints.

We were given a 2 hour sitting and I was worried that we would be rushed but this wasnt the case. There was plenty of time to sit and relax after our meal and chat etc.

This hotel does fabulous cocktails and on Fridays between 5-8pm they are only £3 each. the only downside to our day was the nightclub.

We were charged £5 each in at 5pm. We have never heard such dire music. No DJ, just the bar staff putting on random cds. And they were random. As it was Christmas and late afternoon we would have expected some sort of christmas music or at least some chart music but unfortunately this wasnt the case. Our whole party very quickly lost its atmosphere even though we tried very hard get the party going. The ambience in the club left a lot to be desired. We complained about the club and were given an immediate refund. I thik this in itself showed that the hotel agreed with us as I have never been given a refund in a club before. The hotel had said at the time of booking that the nightclub was an independent francise and they had no control over the entrance fee. so I did find it strange that they were able to authorise a refund! The night club experience brought our day to an abrupt end which was unfortunate and spoilt the day for some of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is nice, receptionist Amy very helpful by email and when we arrived for checkin.
rooms were reasonable sized alow our bed was small compared to another family members room. Bed is very soft,but comfortably, room was warm, shower was great and the dinner was good, deserts were not really that special and wine list was not great, residents bar is open till 3am but we had to wait from 1am to 1.45am to get a drink as they kept saying that they had to get other non residents out of the bar, we went up 4 times to be told this, nightclub Avenue was free in. Door man told us to get out, instead of asking us first if we were residents staying at the hotel. Breakfast was on till 3pm so you can checkout first then get breakfast, we returned from breakfast at 11.30 and we were all locked out of our rooms which had to be activated again, this was not good as checkout is not till 12 this needs to be addressed, also fire bell went off twice through our meal, on checkin out a friend said there bathroom had a horrid burning smell which we all went in and good smell, receptionist did not offer an apoligy and just replied that she would get this looked into and was not friendly when we were leaving. overall cheap price for what we paid, breakfast staff excellent.

Room Tip: stayed on 2nd floor, quiet, room 207 bathroom smelled badly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi-Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

had a fantastic stay at this hotel The staff are among the best i have ever seen girl at reception couldnt do enough for us the food was also excellent i have stayed in a lot of hotels in belfast at much higher rates than i paid for this one and i wouldnt rate them as good loved it so much i have booked it again in january for my husbands birthday cant wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 10 weeks whilst working in Ireland.The hotel is in a great position only a short walk to the centre of Belfast, there are plenty of bars and resturants close by. The hotel has a great bar and great bar staff, it also has a club which is free to residents. The food is great, the rooms are clean and spacious. But most of all the staff are freindly,very helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them.
Thanks again for looking after me.
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all the staff.
Paul AIM ENG

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed here for xmas dinner package with work colleagues, got a great deal, £60 for xmas dinner, overnight stay, entrance into the nightclub and breakfast. hotel is in a great location, its a very busy student area with everything you need close by, the food was good, the rooms not too bad (although i found a bottle lid on the floor under table which was not mine), the nightclub was small but we enjoyed it, alcohol was a bit more expensive than i expected, but maybe average price for a city, only bad things i could say were that hotel had a lot of people taking advantage of xmas offer and was very noisy, showers were hit and miss, hard to get the temperature right, either too hot or cold and the bed was in need of replacement, could feel all the springs, however other colleagues found beds very comfortable. would stay here again as is very reasonably priced and in a good location

Room Tip: rooms looking onto main street have a better view but may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 45 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 45 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dukes at Queens
#24 of 45 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Property: Madison's Hotel
Address: 59-63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 ensuite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing