We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short stay in belfast”
Review of Madison's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madison's Hotel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“short stay in belfast”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Madison for 2 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. especially Danielle (reception) and Amy (dining/bar).. Our superior room was lovely.. but unfortunately there was no blinds on the window..and we had a view of and Indian restaurant. Good value for our euro. Hotel could do with a lick of paint. We were a little disappointed with the dining area (part of the bar area) and the smell of beer was quiet strong on both mornings.The menu choices for dinner and breakfast could do with a little more inspiration..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 234liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    229
    112
    58
    51
See reviews for
52
321
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely hotel. Nice friendly staff. Good value on both food & Bev. no parking but just park on the side streets its free and you can see the car from your hotel room. Good value on cocktails 3 up until 9pm. Walking distance to city centre. Would return if planning another trip to Belfast good value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor with view of on street parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lula79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we stayed in an executive room for 80 pounds a night for one night. it was very loud as a live band were playing. there was no kettle in our room even though it said tea and coffee facilities were in every room. there were no blinds only curtains which had to be closed all the time as our room was directly facing an Indian restaurant and they could see in!

the breakfast was nice but the milk had been left out and was warm. there wasn't much juice left and they didn't refil. the server made us feel like we needed to eat quickly and get out. there was a few boxes of cereal and yogurts but not a feat selection. wee had to ask for toast as we weren't offered any and the cooked breakfast was lovely but quite small and I was still hungry after it. we only got a small pot of tea between two and it didn't last long. didn't feel comfortable
asking
for more as the server too busy clearing away the continental breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamalea1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you are looking for a good nights a sleep, forget it in this hotel, if you have a room on the street side. The night club runs until 1am and the noise travels. Even during the day conversations, dogs, and car doors opening and closing can be heard with the hotel windows closed shut.

Staff were very nice. The breakfast was lovely - I would recommend the fruit porridge and soda breads. Breakfast was held in the night club area - didn't have dinner there but if it was in the same area, I would not have been impressed. Room was clean, comfortable and as you would expect for a 3 star hotel.

15 minute walk to Botanic Gardens, 25 minute to Belfast Central station or Victoria Square.

Room Tip: If you are given a room with the windows on the street side, change room immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was my second stay at Madison's and there standard has not dropped from my first visit last year.All there staff were very helpful and always pleasant, room was very clean and to a good standard, the food is excellent be it breakfast lunnch or evenning meal and always servide with a smile.

Room Tip: try a room to the rearer as hotel looks onto main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel which used to be"The York" in the late 70s when I was a nurse in Belfast.
It is very centrally located in Botanic Ave, close to shops and city centre just a 10 min stroll away
Loved the decor and feel of this place brought back very good memories.
Can not speak highly enough of the 2 very friendly helpful receptionist -they were just gems!
Will definately be back there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were only staying one night but staff were very friendly and chatty and check in process was very quick. If you are dining in the restaurant you get 10% off any meals/drinks you purchase as a resident. Room had a massive double bed in it, decent sized bathroom and was very clean. Breakfast is included and was very impressive with self selection of cereals and orange juice or fruit and then a waitress takes your order for tea/coffee, toast or anything from the breakfast menu for a cooked breakfast. Very quick and friendly service. I thought it was great value for money. I also found from searching around that the best prices are on the hotel's site itself (as opposed to booking through another site such as hotels.com etc). Also an excellent location on botanic avenue - close to lots of different restaurants and bars as well as only a short walk away from the city centre, botanic gardens and the ulster museum. The only downside to my stay was the fire alarm going off at 1am due to someone in the bar/function room accidentally smashing the glass on one of the fire alarms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor if you are staying at the weekend as the noise from the club/bar o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dukes at Queens
#14 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#21 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison's Hotel

Property: Madison's Hotel
Address: 59 - 63 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JL, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#23 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison's Hotel is located at the heart of Belfast's Boulevard society in the beautifully tree lined Queen's Quarter, only ten minutes walk from the city centre. An elegant boutique hotel offering 35 en suite rooms that have recently been refurbished, a 70 seat restaurant, popular Cafe bar and nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Madison's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madisons Hotel Belfast
Madison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing