We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerton House
Nearby Hotels
$111
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Belfast(Belfast)
$157
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$135
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$146
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ten Square(Belfast)
$148
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$361
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
84
67
14
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
67
14
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbelfast castleantrim roadquiet areacity centresingle roomulster frychoice of cerealstop floortwin bedstea and coffeeminute drivebus stopyogurtcomfortable stayrooms were spotlesscooked breakfastbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 181 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The greeting from the manager immediately set the tone for a great stay in an excellent period property with great views over Belfast lough and black mountain behind.

It was clean and spacious and our request to have two bottles of champaign chilled in an hour was done without any fuss.

The location suited our needs perfectly though if your stay in Belfast was centered around the center then taxis would be necessary as buses do not run very late. The local taxi company provided a quick and cheap service.

Breakfast was good (if a little early 7-9am).

One should remember this is a B&B and not an hotel, the experience we had was one which blurred the boundaries, well done :)

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in the US but this was our first international B&B stay and we were very happy with the choice. It is close to Belfast Castle and the owner offered to drive us up if the weather cleared (which it didn't but we still enjoyed dinner at the castle). It is right off Antrim Road. The room, which was a double en suite, was gorgeous and very well kept. Mannix and Elaine were great hosts and were very friendly. They served hot breakfast both mornings we were there and it was delicious. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris107299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was the only B&B in Belfast that accepted vouchers.
When we arrived we were received y the owners children.
They did not have record of a reservation of one of our party even though all the reservations were made at the same time.
the bedrooms were comfortable with a fabulous view but the shower was awkward as there was a sloped ceiling and the skylight in the bathroom did not close.
There is really nothing of interest in the area.
One of the sons recommended a hotel nearby to eat but it seemed no one there wanted to serve us for some reason (we sat there for 5-10 min before deciding to go elsewhere). The hotel called us a cab and sent us downtown to a pub where we had a fabulous night of pub hopping (that I definitely recommend).
Breakfast was good in the morning, but never did meet the owner/host of this bed and breakfast. Overall not a fabulous experience but it was a place to sleep on our tour and we got to visit Belfast which was the main objective.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tif22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great b&b! very friendly and helpful staff, location is also good.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samanthacade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I were starting the 2nd leg of of our two week trip to Scotland and Ireland. After catching the ferry to Belfast we arrived at The Somerton House and were met by the gracious host and owner, Mannix McAlister. He showed us to our room and gave us advice on places to eat that night. He nailed the recommendation with dinner at Belfast Castle.

There was no problem with the on street parking. The home was very clean and neat. The en suite bedroom was very comfortable. No issues with heating or noise. The bathroom shower was a tad small for me, but at 6' 2" I often have issues with showers. My wife had no issues with the shower size.

Breakfast was served by Elaine McAlister who was as gracious a host as her husband. I am a big eater and walked away quite satisfied. The selection of cereals, fruits, and juices covered our tastes. And the made to order Irish Breakfast was great.

We stayed for two nights in late September 2011 and would not hesitate to book a room there in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews