We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A void hotel close to Belfast city centre”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A void hotel close to Belfast city centre”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group for an over night stay.
I found the rooms comfortable enough and roomy.
I had no issues sleeping. The hotel was lively with function rooms in use and our party.
Dinner was lovely and similarly breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    78
    60
    42
    60
See reviews for
89
89
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had a very nice meal here last week. Food was good and service wasn't too bad. Prices very reasonable and a nice place to eat if on a low budget. Handy access from M1 motorway. Close to town centre....

Room Tip: Don't book room over nightclub area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockypatch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Room we had was quiet and very clean .We met our son in the city centre but found it difficult to ger parked so we decided to go back to the hotel for our evening meal and were not disappointed.Staff really friendly and had no bother getting baby boiled potatoes instead of mashed .Three of us really pleased with he quality of the food and the price. Only negative comment would be that staff in dining room not as friendly as the rest of the staff but then we were probably last down for breakfast. Will definitely be back .

Room Tip: The first time we stayed in this hotel the room was very small and hot but we have been happy with r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
219 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have always been shown the warmest of hospitality here by Gabrielle in reception. The reason why some people may challenge the noise is solely on the fact of the Balmoral having done a fabulous job over and over again. They are accommodating to every level here, and we will continue to visit when in the North of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honest reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very disappointed. Firstly, yes I was aware we were not staying at a sister hotel of the Ritz, however basic manners and a welcoming would have been appreciated and expected from any person on reception.The room was adequate and clean. The waiter in the restaurant looked after us very well but the food was disappointing, a small dinner built upon a mountain of cabbage. Nightclub is not mentioned in any booking websites that I saw. Wont be back. (I am generally not hard to please!!!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is not a hotel, it's a niteclub with rooms, noise is constant throughout the midweek so if looking for some sleep, think again.... i have stayed many times here through work and never will again, fights are an every week occurrence with most glass doors at the entrance smashed, staff are horrid to deal with and very intimidating bouncers present even during the week to try control the crowds drinking....breakfast paid for all week but i got up twice- its that bad i'd rather go hungry
stayed 29/07-01/08 and again 05/08-07/08 but NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have visited this hotel many times over the years but have never stayed before. We forgot to ask for a non-smoking room and there was a distinct odour of tobacco in the bathroom. Otherwise, the room was adequate if a bit cramped. The food in the evening was plentiful although the preponderance of cabbage was not to my personal taste! Still, the ambiance was fine and the staff friendly. Alas, there was a wedding going on (on a Monday?) and our room was right above where the disco was being held. I fell into a troubled doze to the strains of STAYING ALIVE. Breakfast was good although a request for herbal tea could not be accommodated. Further, the newspaper promised with the booking was not forthcoming. I raised this with the young woman at reception who promised to look into it - and that was the last I heard. When we were checking out, I mentioned the noise arising from the wedding. However, apart from a routine apology, that was it. I suggested that if they were really sorry, it would be reflected in the bill. The receptionist seemed nonplussed at this. I would have thought she might have contacted the manager? So - not bad but no cigar.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if there is a wedding going on and ask for a room away from the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HatchetField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Beechlawn House Hotel
#35 of 44 in Belfast
239 reviews
Lansdowne Hotel
#40 of 44 in Belfast
203 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wellington Park Hotel
#30 of 44 in Belfast
766 reviews
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 44 in Belfast
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Blacks Road | Dunmurry, Belfast BT10 0NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing