We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cordon Bleu at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beechlawn House Hotel
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cordon Bleu at a price”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Only used the restaurant on this occassion. The folks in Belfast are easily parted from their money. No complaints about the food quality,more re the quantity, some of the prices are way over the top. Take for example the Faustino V red wine £27 a bottle! Are they crazy? Have they been around to Tescos lately? The coffee was worse than poor, diabolical more like. Costa will have no worries about competition creeping in from this quarter. Drove 15 miles to eat here, won't do so again. Serving staff iffy enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulstermarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Beechlawn House Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and for complimenting us on our quality of food. It is unusual for us to receive a complaint regarding the quantity of your food, as we would be well known for offering a generous portion and excellent value for money.
Our wine list offers a varied range of red, white and rose wines priced from £14.95 to the most expensive red on our list which is the Faustino V Reserva. This particular wine is not available in Tescos.
We haven’t had any complaints in the past about our coffee, but we will investigate and monitor your concerns.
I can assure you we do encourage constructive criticism at all times, as we are totally committed to achieving high standards and a professional, friendly service.
Assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    58
    44
    33
    41
See reviews for
79
61
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Staff- Brendan (Manager) I can't say enough to praise this managers dedication to his job and also his staff's, ensuring our wedding day went smoothly. We couldn't have been a more happy and pleased with the job they did and got so many lovely messages from our guests to pass on to the staff.

Room - Overall very good not that got to spend much time in it. Had a lovely balcony which we used the next morning. Had everything to hand and a bathroom so large I was able to manouver my wedding dress with ease :D

Food: Excellent 70 guests all with piping hot food served to them and all at the same time so everyone eating together. Little mini army amazing job. Again guests praised the service and the quality and quantity of food supplied. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Again Brendan was never far from my husband and myself ensuring we had all we required.

Overall Experience: EXCELLENT would recommend to anyone for their wedding. From booking to actual event they took over with military precision and couldn't be happier.

Only found this out after: When first guests arrived at hotel they assumed was shortbread and tea. Were more than happy with tea and biscuits. Once guests served Brendan arrived at their table with shortbread for each of them. "Their little secret" Brendan knew these were guests of our wedding at the time but what he didn't know was this was the Mother of The Groom !!! To say she was singing your praises would be an understatement. This is the service that makes a great hotel

Thank you all for such a wonderful day. Tracey & Paul McCaughey

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyMcCaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for choosing the Beechlawn House Hotel for your wedding reception, and for taking the time to post your positive and complimentary comments.

I am delighted you enjoyed a wonderful experience on your wedding day with us, and very pleased that we provided a very high standard of service and that our food and facilities totally lived up to your expectations.

Your comments are really appreciated, and in particular by Brendan and his team, as our staff get so much encouragement when their professionalism and hard work are recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Beechlawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is quite some time since I was last in the Beechlawn House Hotel, but a family celebration on Saturday night was just brilliant! Such helpful staff from the initial enquiry, booking, confirming and then the event itself. It all just happened with ease, professionalism, friendliness and enthusiasm.
The meal was excellent, staff very attentive and we all had a great time.
I would definitely recommend the Beehlawn House Hotel and will definitely be back again before long.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I wish to thank you for your custom and taking the time to post your positive and complimentary comments about our high standard of food service. This gives our Staff great encouragement when their friendly and professional hard work are recognised and appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

On bookig in for our 3 Night Staw My credit card was Charged £200 straghaway on checkin, The room was very Tired and Drab, The TV only had 5 watchable channels and was a Very Old 14in Portable with a cheap One For All remote control that did not work the set propoly, The bathroom was very small with a very noisey fay and a Not very good shower, There wear 2 teabags 2 coffee sachets 2 white suger and 2 brown suger and No Biscuts, The hotel Staff wear really very Unhelpfull and all wear also very Misrable and not one of them could say the words Please on Thank You all a guest seemed to be was a Room Number, Infact when i asked to pay my bill the day Befor we left i was told i Could Not untill the day we left as another nights accomadation had to be added to my hotel account But after a little pushing i was able to pay in the end once again without a Thank You, The food did not look to good and did not taist good but it was still very expensive and the Breakfast was just a downwright disgrase with very bad table service and waitering skills evry member of staff that waited on us was either Ignorant or Misrable or both we could of done without all this Agravation and Ignorance and wile there we even seen a Waitress Serving food wile wearing Nail Polish which constitutes a Health Risk in our book ? ? ?

Room Tip: For A Better Time Away From Home Pick A Better Hotel Than This One !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Beechlawn House Hotel, I am sorry that you were not happy and that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Reading your other hotel reviews, it is surprising to see that you have had the misfortune of having so many bad experiences and choice of hotels everywhere you stay.
Unfortunately, we were not offered any opportunity to enquire about your stay, as you didn’t come to the reception desk to check out, and at no time did you make any complaints to our staff.
Thank you for complimenting us on our tea making facilities!
We pride ourselves in providing a very high standard of friendly, professional and attentive service and excellent food and beverage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms disappointing. Food always nice I go there with my family for different events but was surprised at the small old fashioned room with broken kettle and water taps in bathroom was not impressed at all would not stay overnight again in poor conditions like that

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I wish to thank you for your custom and taking the time to post the complimentary comments about our food.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your room, but we did not receive any complaint or comment card either during or following your visit and therefore were not able to immediately rectify the problems. We could have moved you to another room or replaced the kettle if we had been aware of any problem at the time.
Since your visit, we are undergoing a refurbishment program throughout the hotel and in addition to the foyer and dining areas we have already completed a number of the bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clogher
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break staying in the Beechlawn. Staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was really good, the room was basic but clean and I have no complaints whatsoever about our stay here and yes i would return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Partners, Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for choosing the Beechlawn House Hotel for your weekend break and for taking the time to post your positive and complimentary comments; in particular it gives our Staff great encouragement when their professionalism and hard work are recognised and appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Travelled up to celebrate cousins 50th birthday.Greeted at reception by a lovely girl very welcoming.Party went very well until we looked for a late drink [12.30 am] Management did not seem to have a clear policy on residents late drinking if you could call 12.30 late. Situation was handled very badly.Just as well we were all of a mature age or the whole night could have been a lot worse.Its not asking too much that management should have a clear policy in place so as all staff on late shift should know if they can serve drink or not.
Bernadette

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bernadette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerbeechlawn, Owner at Beechlawn House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the Beechlawn House Hotel, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I am glad that you were pleased with the greeting you received and enjoyed the birthday celebrations during the evening.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the hotel’s after hours drinking regulations, however we do have a clear policy in that NON RESIDENTS cannot be served alcohol after normal permitted hours. These guidelines are forced upon us by the NI Licensing Laws. The management do have a difficult role to fulfil especially at the end of a successful evening when NON RESIDENTS often look for the same after hours benefits as residents. It would be helpful all round if the licensing laws were more flexible but unfortunately our hands are tied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
Balmoral Hotel
#38 of 43 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Lansdowne Hotel
#39 of 43 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechlawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechlawn House Hotel

Property: Beechlawn House Hotel
Address: 4 Dunmurry Lane, Belfast BT17 9RR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechlawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from Febuary 2017, The Beechlawn House Hotel is situated less than 10 minutes drive from Belfast and Lisburn city centers, and less than a mile from the M1 motorway with easy access to the City and International airports, ferry, train and bus terminals. The lavishly refurbished Beechlawn House Hotel offers a superb range of facilities including; 42 En-suite Bedrooms, an intimate Bistro, Bar & Restaurant, Conference Suites, Function Rooms and a Multi Media Suite. Complimentary Wireless Internet access WiFi for all residents and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Beechlawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechlawn Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing