We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Required”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechlawn House Hotel
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Arrive at this hotel on a busy evening, and the guest will experience what it is like to check-in in the middle of a restaurant. Return later in the evening, and the guest will be met (not welcomed) by 'security staff' - indicative of the hotel's popularity as a venue for the sort of functions which are not always compatible with a relaxing stay.

It probably wouldn't take much effort to transform the experience of staying in this hotel from something which has to be endured into something which could be enjoyed. The ability to view the experience from a guest's perspective would help, and might change items such as the torn soft furnishings in the bedroom and the notices held up with Blu-Tak which just imply a lack of professionalism and the absence of any standards. Training in soft skills could even change the attitude of the reception staff, who might as a result show that they have some interest in the quality of the guest experience.

Unfortunately in an area where hotel rooms are in short supply, and in a location where there is an enthusiastic local market for The Beechlawn Hotel's casual dining offer, it is hard to imagine such improvements taking place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Strathallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

Where to start. Well first off, booked this hotel as it had all I was looking for in the one place, a bed, a bar, food and WiFi access.

Checked in here on Tuesday, for 3 nights, as it was convenient to where I was working, just a 10-15 minute drive to Lisburn, morning and evening.

Very friendly staff and great service. Food was served in a prompt manner and was well presented. Breakfast was excellent, choice of Continental or a Fry-up, as was the menu available for dinner, witha wide selection catering for vegetarian and meat lover alike.

Rooms were well serviced and maintained. The one I got had a bath/shower and a very good supply of hot water which was very much needed for the long soak on Thursday night.

Hopefully I will be back sometime soon. Overall I very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JP_Maloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Alas, the 'lavish refurbishment' at the hotel must have been carried out behind the scenes. The room for our 2-night stay was dingy, with the classic cigarette burns in the bedclothes and stale smell. A noisy, unstopped party went on up and down the corridor all night, keeping us awake throught the small hours; no staff intervened. When we came to check out, the staff didn't even enquire how our stay had been.

Stayed: February 2008
18  Thank petriec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

This was a surprise for me to stay here.We were only staying the one night .Yes ,the room was clean but lacked atmosphere,bathroom was small standard and basic.The breakfast the next morning was a bit of a disaster as the server couldnt understand English very well and I didnt get what I wanted.I would say this hotel is ok for a short stay when you just need somewhere to sleep but not for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2003

I booked this hotel for 4 nights last April, I had a visitor form overseas coming to Northern Ireland for the first time. the accomadation Iwas offered when we arrived at hotel was a disgrace.
after refusing the dark dingy rooms we were offered decent rooms for additional charge were provided. The food defied belief !!!on two of the mornings the ran out of cereal and yogurt and juice at 8.30 am b/fast runs till 10am. one evening after several request for the wine to be server with our meal no responce, it was offered with coffee.

the whole visit was such a disaster after complaining to duty Manager still nothing was done there was no one to take owenershp for the complete chaos of what should have been a relaxing time

28  Thank noreen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2002

I stayed in the Beechlawn and found the staff extremely friendly and courteous. The accomodation was also of a extremely high standard. The food was exquisite!!!! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definetly be revisiting the Beechlawn in the near future.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phfavero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Balmoral Hotel
#36 of 45 in Belfast
130 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lansdowne Hotel
#39 of 45 in Belfast
224 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechlawn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechlawn House Hotel

Address: 4 Dunmurry Lane, Belfast BT17 9RR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: $91 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechlawn House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from Febuary 2017, The Beechlawn House Hotel is situated less than 10 minutes drive from Belfast and Lisburn city centers, and less than a mile from the M1 motorway with easy access to the City and International airports, ferry, train and bus terminals. The lavishly refurbished Beechlawn House Hotel offers a superb range of facilities including; 42 En-suite Bedrooms, an intimate Bistro, Bar & Restaurant, Conference Suites, Function Rooms and a Multi Media Suite. Complimentary Wireless Internet access WiFi for all residents and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Beechlawn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechlawn Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing