We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel but noise can be a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crescent Townhouse
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here on the weekend of June 22/23 and was very impressed with the hotel. I had read the reviews re the noise, so i asked for a quiet room at the back when booking. We had room 212, it was huge, comfortable, warm and overall excellent. There was some noise at around 3.30 am from the street cleaners which wasn't too bad but for a light sleeper might be a problem. The hotel is located on a corner of a busy main street and a side street, some of the rooms face onto the main street and are directly across from a nightclub, e.g room 209, so this would be an issue if you are a light sleeper. However if you can ignore the noise issue,then this hotel is excellent. Great food, great staff, and a great location, and as i already mentioned, our room was super. If it wasn't for the noise issue, i would be giving this a 5 out of 5

Room Tip: Room 212 at the back of the hotel does not face onto the main street, ie it is not opposite the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mairead050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 494 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Crescent Townhouse Belfast is a lovely hotel, very convenient place to stay, very central, easy access to all the main areas of interest. Also very close to the city centre. Clean comfortable hotel, would stay here again if visiting Belfast, would recommend it. Staff really friendly and courteous.Maybe one small negative is decor within the room is a bit tired and teacups badly stained and no glasses available, but as I said very minor certainly wouldnt put me off. A great deal for the night, COMPLIMENTS TO CHEF!, food was outstanding both in the evening meal and breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigc2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business at the University for 2 nights. The staff are great, good rooms and a great breakfast. The only thing that lets the breakfast down is the concentrate orange juice. Yuchh.. Fresh orange would be great. Loved the location and the comedy club across the rd was great. However the downfall is - nothing shuts and it's very noisy. I was in the ground floor on night 1 and I was moved. I did not sleep at all. The noise from traffic and people was relentless. I was put on the top floor the following night but the noise was still audible and I slept a bit but not much and i even had ear plugs in. This was a big problem and I'm now at the airport writing this completely worn out from lack of sleep. Can't fault everything else but the room was to sleep in and it failed me. If you are a light sleeper do not stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fab4Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ideally located for both the City centre and Queen's Quarter, this is a carefully maintained, friendly hotel whose good humoured staff make enormous efforts to meet guests' needs. Nothing was too much trouble. Our very reasonably priced suite was spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the O'Neil suite and it was lovely. The hotel is fairly central and the suite was spacious and comfy with a fantastic waterfall shower. Bliss.

Just before we arrived we had car trouble - the staff were really helpful In directing us to a garage... Which was a major relief - phew!

We had dinner and breakfast included in our package - both meals were lovely and again the staff were great - really pleasant. :)

We had a quiet night in so didn't use the bar but we did drop in for an ice bucket & glasses :) - music was great while we were there.

Overall a great stay - would highly recommend and we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I would like to highly recommend this hotel. Great location, free on street parking, comfortable beds, clean, huge bathroom, Molton Brown toiletries, perfect Irish breakfast (other choices available) and extremely pleasant and helpful lady on reception. Excellent value for money. Stayed on the top floor, so no noise issues.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank getaway2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had booked a suite and the Empire was a lovely room with a huge bathroom. Unfortunately there were only 2 towels and the requested additional towels delivered were bath mats! Clean but more efficient use of the duster would have been appreciated!! The room was very noisy - combination of a night club opposite, live music in the bar until 1.00am, a taxi rank around the corner and a main traffic thoroughfare one side of the hotel. Staff were generally friendly - but so is everyone in the city - the receptionist could not give us directions to the airport without sendiing us via the motorway [it was a 7 minute drive via the riverbank]. Breakfast was good, we didn't use the restaurant. Great location for getting around, the Botanic train station over the road made it an ideal base.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwindonMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,426 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 45 in Belfast
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,421 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Townhouse

Address: 13 Lower Crescent, Belfast BT7 1NR, Northern Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#17 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#18 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $71 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crescent Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the bustling Queen's Quarter, the historic Crescent Townhouse Hotel and our friendly staff are ready to welcome you to Belfast where we will endeavor to make your stay as special and memorable as possible. This well-appointed boutique hotel has been carefully and thoughtfully designed to give a contemporary feel in a classic setting. It features traditionally decorated rooms with comfortable, modern amenities including a flat screen TV/DVD and free Wi-Fi. The lavish Suites are decorated in traditional Victorian style fitted with dark mahogany canopy beds, floral drapes, antique wing armchairs and a roll top bath and walk-in shower. A wide range of food is served at the hotel's restaurant, which includes specialties made with locally sourced ingredients. The breakfast, with many options to choose from, is served daily. You can choose to include the breakfast in your accommodation package or purchase it separately. Metro Bar offers a more relaxed welcome with a full bar food menu available every lunchtime and evening. The atmosphere is lively, warm and friendly and the famous Belfast banter goes on well into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Crescent Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Townhouse Belfast
Crescent Townhouse Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing