We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location in Belfast”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Peaceful location in Belfast”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We enjoyed our short visit to Belfast, and Dukes at Queens hotel was a good choice overall. As we were a family of three we were assigned a Deluxe room with extra bed. The room was huge for the UK. Without the extra bed there would be lots of room to move about. The room came with a large desk, desk chair for doing any work should one be on a business visit, another good sized table with two comfortable sitting chairs, and a cushioned seat at the foot of the bed. The bathroom is quite modern with huge bowl sink and rain shower. However, minor quibbles here as I always find that modern bathrooms don't work out for practical reasons, and this was also the case. The sink's faucet is on the left hand (not the middle as is typical) meaning that it's awkward and if one turns it on full blast the water splashes out of the basin. The rain shower was great, had fantastic water pressure and heat, but strangely the temp. never went totally cold so it was a choice of either hot or warm. It is also a bit unusual as there is one glass wall to the side of the shower. The back of the shower had no door or anything to protect the water from splashing onto the floor. There was a nice bathtub included should one want to soak. However, there is not much counter space; it surrounds the sink and water can wet your toiletries as mentioned above if one turns on the faucet too hard. Also there were no hooks on the door to hang one's clothes. Our bathroom door had a major problem as it did not close unless one struggled and pushed it.
The staff were very accommodating-Reine, Eveline, and Lynsie (breakfast room) in particular. There was a receptionist (Shilpi) who was not quite helpful I'm sorry to say. For example, we were first time visitors to Belfast and when we asked about directions she verbally told us where things were located but never offered us a map leaving us to ask for one. Breakfast was included in our rate, but she never told us about it (breakfast time and location) until we asked. She did not seem as polished as the other receptionists unfortunately.
As for location, the hotel is quite a long walk from the city centre. I would say it's between 30-45 minutes depending on how fast one walks, of course. The area immediately around the hotel is quieter than the centre, and as the name suggests, it's two blocks from Queen's University which is a 'must see'. Btw, Queen's University has a visitor's centre offering not only souvenirs but also tours of the university and tourist information. There are some nice cafes and restaurants within walking distance. We actually had an enjoyable Italian dinner at Villa Italia located a block away from the hotel. Beatrice Kennedy's restaurant is across the street from Villa Italia.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paris_1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    246
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
71
440
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Had a lovely stay at the hotel. Rooms were delightful and spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds. Good selection of food at breakfast. Helpful and friendly reception staff - let us use the internet for checking flight disruptions due to volcano ash. Stayed for longer than expected due to travel problems, but was given a free upgrade.

Would have liked the windows to have opened - all airconditioned.

Bar pricey - but as are all drinks in Belfast.

Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I travel to Belfast one week every month with work and have stayed at over 10 different hotels in the city and this would rate very highly. The service from the minute I made an enquiry to the minute I left was the best I have experienced in the city. The reception and brasserie staff were extremely attentive, without seeing to try to hard. The room, whilst a little small was clean, the ensuite excellent and had all the nice to haves. The quality of the food was excellent and did not try to produce top a la carte type food, but decent well presented 'bistro pub grub' although the four different menus was a little disjointed. I would say that it positions itself in the same category as Ten Square, but would stay here as Ten Square is now a little dated and tired and really needs some refurbishment. I very rarely stay in the same hotel twice, however I am planning to stay here next time. See online for there spring offers as I found it cheaper that with laterooms or lastminute.

The bar area is extremely light and airy, with a great bistro feel. Not quite sure why they needed to have a huge wood fired pizza oven.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkseyWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed here as Birthday celebration .. rooms are excellent and I have never slept in such a comfortable bed. The bathrooms was well laid out... bar and restaurant on site will stay again.. Also Massage and reflexology local as are selection of shops and restaurants. The room also had a flatscreen tv. Its central location makes it very well located to Queens and to local restaurants.. Breakfast included everything andd complimentary newspapers

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I booked this hotel for my colleagues - we are a film crew and were travelling with talent so it was important we chose the hotel carefully to meet all the varying needs.
Film shoots are complicated and forever changing but Eveline (our main contact) answered all our queries very promply and was ready to do anything she could to make everything work perfectly. She went beyond our expectations to ensure our talent had a very enjoyable stay. And all this on top of very favourable rates.
The crew and talent were delighted with the service they received and the rooms they stayed in. From my point of view, I literally could not have asked for more and it was nothing but a pleasure to arrange - extremely refreshing!
Just a bit envious I didn't get to stay there myself!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amos91179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I have just had the pleasure with my mother and two sisters of staying at the recently refurbished Dukes at Queens. From the get go our stay was delightful. From the moment we pushed open the front door where we were greeted by their fabulously friendly front of house staff to our farewell breakfast just before we departed there are not enough positive things I could say about the hotel. Every aspect of our stay was extremely positive. The rooms are elegantly decorated with very comfortable beds and a bathroom that was made for spoiling every lady who loves to sink into a hot bath after spending her day shopping. The Bistro style restaurant has a lovely buzz about it with entertainment that suits all age groups that allows you to enjoy your meal and the music without drowning out your ability to converse with your companions. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation for a pampering girly weekend or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

On arrival at 'dukes' we were WARMLY greeted by reine the receptionist.she explained all the hotel had to offer and explained about the valentines menu,which we gladly took.the bedroom was HUGEEEEEEEE.WOW you could have fitted a family of 6 EASILY into this room. i and my partner have every intention of going back to 'dukes', next time we will be trying out the pizzas that dukes have to offer,we are told they are really really nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangorgooner635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing