We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little spot in great section of Belfast”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the Dukes for one night in July. 2014. The room was spacious and well appointed - unfortunately no view - we looked out onto the brick wall of the adjoining pub. However, the hotel is nicely located in the University district and a quick walk down Botanic Ave yielded all sorts of dinner options in every imaginable cuisine. We had the breakfast in the hotel - it was fine. Nothing spectacular and my sister's eggs benedict arrived without the ham. The hotel was clean and beds comfortable. Only real negative is lack of parking - and finding street parking can be tricky in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tasslegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 851 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is brilliant but I found it was overpriced, it had a few minor problem's such as broken lamps, lamp shades and toilet seat.

also when I asked for a spare blanket the night porter said they didn't have any which I know is untrue as I work in a hotell myself and we most certainly always have a number of spare blankets, the porter was just too lazy to actually do his job and get one for myself.

hotel itself was very nice but not worth the money and the staff weren't the kindest, wouldn't stay here again as there are places a million times better in Belfast which are actually worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don10053827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here a few times as its convenient for us to get to.
It's a basic but functional hotel, the reception is tiny with no more than a small desk and a chair which initially I assumed was a cumputer area for guest use!
There is a lift which is unusual for small hotels so that's a great bonus. The bar/restaurant is in the same room just broken up by decorating in a different style, this is also where breakfast is served so if your there for more than a day or two it can get a bit much being in the same room ...
As its in the busy university area there is no free street parking and no parking provided by hotel.
Expensive for what it is...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We booked a superior room in this hotel. My husband asked if it would be a quiet room as we had read the reviews. The receptionist said- ah you'll be fine. All I can say is that as I type this the beat is thumping through the room. Only another hour to go......

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank LoopylassScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Had my hens here in May. There was approx 20 ladies who attended and the staff were so helpful and accommodating! Many of the guests will be returning. Rooms were lovely! Food was really good and the cocktails were fantastic. Really good value for money!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Saja_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Only 15 minutes fm the city center, this property could use a a bit of spiffing up here and there. The receptionist was pleasant, efficient and helpful with our check-in and dinner recommendations, although there are not a lot in the immediate area of Queens. The price was good compared to other properties in the city, the room of good size, but some may prefer to pay more for better accommodations closer in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dwh6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is NOT a four-star hotel. The hallway carpets are threadbare, the furniture in the room very heavily scuffed. Bathroom fixtures have been updated but the faucet for example was not securely fixed to the counter. My room was on the third floor but had one tiny window way up high, giving it the appearance of a basement suite, dark and dingy. I found the service across the board to be a bit chippy. The wifi works only in the tiny hotel lobby. Room is a decent size and the location is good (quiet quarter steps away from the University and some nice restaurants). All in, I will pay a bit more for a proper hotel next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carleeopteryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,066 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 45 in Belfast
1,275 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $107 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing