We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Loved staying at the hotel while in Belfast.. The Staff were very helpful especially Reine on the front desk ,, she was lovely !! The meals in the hotel were very good as was the service !! the room we had was very clean and spacious with a Huge Bed , Surround sound , Bath and a Lovely Shower !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    237
    78
    25
    20
See reviews for
70
423
30
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

First time stay in this great hotel. Really friendly staff, modern well appointed rooms and very clean. Only draw back is no private car park but plenty of places to park outside the hotel. Located in a lovely part of town. I would highly recommend for a weekend away or business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch Jimmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Europe
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days after a conference. The location was great you can walk into the centre in 15 minutes or catch a bus and be there in 5 minutes. The buses are easy and you can buy a hop on hop off day pass cheaply, ask the bus driver. The room in the hotel was spacious and clean with plantation shutter which adds to the boutique style. The bathroom was great and the bed very comfortable. It is an easy walk to Queens University and the botanical gardens, both worth the walk. As a guest of the hotel you can use the Gym at the university for a nominal cost. The staff wee friendly and very helpful. The only down side was the lack of parking, you have to compete with the local workers for street parking. Breakfast was OK and the portions enough to last past lunch. there are several restaurants nearby. The wifi is free in the public areas but try it in your room we found it worked on the first floor. We would stay here again on our next visit to Belfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaye50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Room was well decorated. Staff were very friendly. Great location however it has on-road parking. Only complaint was our room has a port-hole window which was designed not to open. If you suffer from claustrophobia this is a very uncomfortable setting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a port-hole window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding night in August. Although we arrived very late we were given a warm welcome. The room was modern, immaculately clean and had possibly the biggest shower I have ever seen! The location of Dukes at Queens is perfect for exploring Belfast. It is right in the heart of the university area with loads of cafes, bars, parks and beautiful old buildings. The fantastic shopping, history and nightlife of Belfast city centre is just a short walk away. The staff were even kind enough to bring us breakfast in bed even though we had forgotten to order the room service in advance. The breakfast was perfect and much needed after a hectic wedding weekend! Would highly recommend this hotel and Belfast as a whole. Best wee city in the world. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsM1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Dukes at Queens. The hotel is situated in a lovely area, about 15 minutes walk from the city centre, with many restaurants and cafes very close to the hotel. Our room was a twin and we found it to be very spacious and comfortable. Even though it was a bank holiday weekend and the hotel was obviously quite busy our room was extremely quiet. We enjoyed a continental breakfast the first morning and full Irish the second. I will certainly be staying here the next time I visit Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We really had a lovely two days stay at Dukes.The Irish Breakfast is fantastic and very filling.The hotel is very clean the rooms are spacious and the decor is beautiful the bed was very comfortable,the shower was really good. Its also within walking distance to the university and Botanic gardens,and one can walk around the shops have lunch or dinner around the many Irish pubs around.

We had booked the tour bus company and while requesting for a taxi pick up the very friendly receptionist was very kind to inform us that there is a free shuttle bus from the tour company and she would ring them up to pick us,we were very grateful for her help.

There is free WIFI

I highly recommend this hotel and i would love to stay there again while in Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanzu500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing