We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for one night in Belfast after a stay in Balymena. On checking in at dukes of queens found the lady on reception an absolute dream, full of enthusiasm and beyond helpful. Rooms are gorgeous, spacious and still retain gothic windows but with an ultra modern clean fresh make over. Beds were super comfy too. When packing up, turns out I dropped a white gold and diamond dress ring, unknowingly we left cases with concierge and checked out, went shopping, then when I came back around 4 hours later the maid had handed the ring into reception. Couldn't believe it, staff at this hotel are an absolute credit to it's success. From the reception who are happy to help with anything or offer advice to the maid who cleaned the place perfectly and handed in my ring. Would definitely be my first choice if I ever go back to Belfast. Sunday Carvery is also the perfect hangover cure. Absolutely loved my stay couldn't recommend the place enough. Perfect location for daytime wandering with lots of restaurants and bars near by, and a short cab ride away from all other nightlife entertainment! Just perfect!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    234
    78
    25
    19
See reviews for
69
419
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as part of a business and it was very pleasant hotel. From City Hall to Duke's Hotel I was about £4 in a taxi, so still reasonably close to the main City Centre.

The room I stayed in was very modern in decor, with a large flat screen TV, king size bed and a lovely large bathroom with seperate shower rather than the usual over-bath shower.

Breakfast was buffet style, and offered plenty of options. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant during my stay, and I would have no hesitation in staying there again should the option present itself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSulkyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

perfect. staff lovely and really helpful. breakfast was lovely, great choice and can chose as little or as much as you like. I had full Irish twice and then eggs benedict with bacon instead of ham the third day, which was particularly nice.
Bed was lovely. room lovely and bathroom great size, particularly the walk in waterfall type shower.
We had late drinks in the bar both Friday and Saturday night with a DJ.
On the Saturday we had a three course meal with cocktail making class before, which was included in the hotel price. Cocktail making was great fun and took away our two cocktails.
dinner was lovely, good choices which we had to make that morning. I had duck pate followed by steak and then creme brulee. all gorgeous and well cooked.
we also got a complimentary champagne cocktail
cannot fault the hotel, ameneties, food or staff
good location, 10 minute walk to town, 2 minute walk to local shops, cafe's, bars and restaurants and bus stops nearby
will definately return if in Belfast and recommend to anyone
I did not go into swimming pool or fitness centre so cannot comment

Room Tip: ask for second floor if want an early night at weekend as the music from DJ travels. I was on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just wanted to write a review and express how impressed us girls were with the Dukes @ Queens hotel.

There were sixteen of us girls, we had the b&b package with evening dinner and cocktail training - what fantastic value for money.

The hotel itself was very clean, modern and well worth it's four star status. The rooms had large flat screen TV's and short walk to the city centre.

The food was of a very good standard, breakfast was plentiful and no dodgy sausages! We also had an evening meal and again the quality of the produce was good with good cuts of meats.

Everyone in our party commented how fantastic the hotel was and what great value for money.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

A special thank you goes out to Reine who is an asset to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble for her and her helpful, delightful manner never seemed to waine - even after 100 emails!
All the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble.....

Thank you Dukes for making our stay in Belfast one that will not be forgotten.

P.S. The reason I rated "Average" quality of sleep is because our room was directly over the DJ stand, this would not have been a problem if you wanted to go to bed after 1a.m. (time it closes).

Room Tip: Brilliant, Brilliant hotel. If you are planning on going to bed before 1a.m. dont get a room above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed one night for business trip. Very comfortable, great bedding, soft towels, spacious room, big bathroom, rain shower, free wifi, huge flat screen tv. Everything you could want. I arrived very late, good service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna258741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed for a weekend here with a mate of mine, mainly to see the Titanic museum and crawl around Belfast's many great pubs. We shared a twin room at the front of the hotel - room 36 - which was spacious and very comfortable. The place oozes quality with premium fixtures from the bathroom with walk in monsoon shower to the exquisite window slats and comfortable beds. Breakfasts are also great with good and tasty choices (beyond the Irish fry) and there was evening entertainment on Fridays and Saturdays - although much to my disappointment this didn't go on after about 11 on Saturday - probably to many people's relief, and if I'd had my kids with me, to mine as well. The hotel is also very well located close to the Ulster Museum, Botanic gardens, and the many bars and restaurants around Botanic Avenue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBNewBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing