We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel to stay in Belfast”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Gilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best hotel to stay in Belfast”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Upon arrival you are greeted by a most professional and pleasant receptionist(sorry I didn't catch your name), who must be headhunted by many establishments as she is by far top of her class. The hotel has a calm ambiance about it, the rooms are very well equipped and finished to a high standard. Bar and restaurant carry on that theme and the staff there are excellent. Cannot find a fault with this place at all! They have certainly got a good thing going hear - a must place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    242
    78
    25
    20
See reviews for
70
432
30
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

they were very helpful and accommodating over the phone when we booked. during our stay all staff were attentive and helpful. the bar was a lovely place to spend the evening. hotel was in a nice quiet spot in Belfast. we would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adammilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I recently had my wedding in Belfast. Myself, my husband, his family and over thirty of our friends stayed at Dukes at Queens and everyone had a fantastic time. Reine, Jennyfer and all the team went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. Everyone was warmly welcomed and enjoyed their rooms. The reception team helped guests to organise bus tours and black taxi tours of Belfast as well as checking people in for flights and booking numerous taxis. Everything was done with a smile, we cannot thank you enough for helping to make our wedding perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday in December, Hotel was very nice but just needed a lick of paint here and there especially around the cleaning room on the 2nd floor, The room was top class and a very good bathroom . My partner had a bottle of Moet put in the room for arrival and only cost 45 Euros. The breakfast was good and cooked to order , my only complaint was the orange juice was a poor quality but had worse in better hotels. Did not get to try the evening menu as ate out , the bar area was decorated a little different but it grew on me . The prices were average for a hotel but my one complaint about the bar is the staff are not that great just stand around talking and the grumpy older guy who works there saw it was 11p.m one night and switched the backround music off turned the lights up and hinted for us to drink up. Apart from that everything was great. Reinne (sorry if i spelt it wrong ) was very welcoming and very polite. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding, the room was ample sized and very clean. Excelelnt value. The bar and restaurant is also very good value and good food, I would reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Cons - Initially I was disappointed when we arrived at Dukes at Queens as it looked a little more like a pub and the area seemed a little run down. The decoration inside and general feel of the hotel is rather garish with bold colours and prints which aren't to my taste. The bar staff were a bit off and spent more time chatting to each other than which was a shame as we liked bars with a bit of Irish charm. I think we were on floor two and when we came out of the lift the cleaning room was very battered and looked a mess, a lick of paint could easily fix that.

Pros - The price Is very good (particually as it included breakfast) and I should know as I researched extensively! Breakfast staff were lovely and it was great to be able to order from a menu. Whilst initially hesitate the area proved to be a hit as it had lots of local restaurants, which we always prefer to chain spots. The walk to town takes around ten minutes and is more or less one straight road, very easy. The guitar player they had one night was fantastic!

The best point about the hotel was the gorgeous bathroom and extremely helpful reception staff who were a delight.

Well priced, not trying to be anything it's not, what's not to like!

Room Tip: We were given one well away from the bar and we didn't hear any sounds from downstairs but I ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LasBabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great Hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, stayed few weeks before Christmas hotel busy but no noise, great nights sleep really comfy bed and 5star bathroom, plus great price. Well be back. Elizabeth & John

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toots2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,160 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing