We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay in summer holiday”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay in summer holiday”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights over summer. Good location as out of noisier centre but 10-15 mins easy walk away. Selection of good restaurants and coffee shops nearby. 5/10 min Walk to botanic gardens/ulster museeum. Taxi provided to titanic exhibition (check with hotel before booking) and tour companies collect from hotel. Friendly staff. Nice room/hotel decor.
Not sure how busy during student term time?

Room Tip: Book early for hotel deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    249
    84
    25
    20
See reviews for
73
448
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the staff very friendly and helpful, a lovely welcome at reception. The luxury room was very nice, the bed was amazingly comfortable and I loved the wooden shutters on the bay window! My only slight reservation was the breakfast, which was a bit lacking for a four star hotel, hence only very good rating and not excellent. We were not asked if we wanted the optional extras with the full Irish and did not get them and I felt the staff were slightly less helpful and approachable as they might have been. I have also come to expect a wide range of options in a four star hotel and felt that a selection of cold meats and pastries would have made the breakfast perfect. Overall this is a small gripe and I enjoyed my stay greatly and would be happy to return to Dukes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebmayne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed on a Tuesday night and the rooms are great! Really modern inside, the cocktail bar is great and Breakfast is cooked to order the next morning! Stayed there a few times now and will def be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from staying 1 night at this lovely hotel. It is ideally situated to see all the sights of Belfast - especially the restaurants and nightlife. The room itself was lovely and the bathroom was fantastic - walk in shower and extremely modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - especially breakfast which set us up for the day! I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB13-Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent value and service the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We chose this hotel fir our honeymoon and extremely impressed. Beautiful hotel a little walk into town but nice. Only 3.50 in a taxi. Breakfast was fab and Claudines has a lovely atmosphere serving lovely food. We will definitely be returning!!!! Thank you so much for making our special break even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danhot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

On a recent trip through parts of Ireland and Northern Ireland, this was simply the nicest room I stayed in. The furnishings were very modern, including a flat screen TV that was bigger than the one I have at home and a huge pillow top bed. The location was fine. I was there when classes were not in session, so the area was a bit quiet, but there were still plenty of restaurant options nearby and downtown was an easy twenty minute walk away. The only thing that keeps me from giving them a 5/5 is the lack of parking. We were, however, able to park on the road not far away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay in Dukes. The hotel is well located at the intersection of Botanic Avenue and University Street and thus in the centre of Queen’s Quarter, so that it is close to the main university buildings, the Botanic Garden and the Ulster Museum and just a short walk from the city centre. The immediate neighbourhood is somewhat down-at-heel in places but un-threatening and lively, even in the university vacation.

The hotel is a conversion of two/three 19c townhouses but there is no trace of the original building inside. The décor is chic-boutique, sort-of. At the weekend the ground floor nightclub offers an ‘Acoustic Evening’ which lives up to its name but the high decibels did not reach our top floor room.

Room size varies. Ours, the ‘luxury’ option, was enormous and well equipped, as was its large bathroom, although some of the equipment there didn’t function well. We overlooked the street but no noise penetrated.

Breakfast is an adequate buffet in a comfortable room, with hot food cooked to order (the options thankfully go beyond the Ulster Fry).

All the staff we met were helpful and friendly.

The hotel has no private parking but we found free on-street parking nearby. However, this may be less available in term time and the nearest secure parking is an impractical distance away. Free hi-speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel but the system requires frequent reconnection and a separate username/code for each device.

We recommend Dukes as a good alternative to Belfast's soulless hi-rise hotels, especially for tourists without cars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 45 in Belfast
1,540 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing