We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, comfortable”
Review of Dukes at Queens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dukes at Queens
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
292 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Well located, comfortable”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay in Dukes. The hotel is well located at the intersection of Botanic Avenue and University Street and thus in the centre of Queen’s Quarter, so that it is close to the main university buildings, the Botanic Garden and the Ulster Museum and just a short walk from the city centre. The immediate neighbourhood is somewhat down-at-heel in places but un-threatening and lively, even in the university vacation.

The hotel is a conversion of two/three 19c townhouses but there is no trace of the original building inside. The décor is chic-boutique, sort-of. At the weekend the ground floor nightclub offers an ‘Acoustic Evening’ which lives up to its name but the high decibels did not reach our top floor room.

Room size varies. Ours, the ‘luxury’ option, was enormous and well equipped, as was its large bathroom, although some of the equipment there didn’t function well. We overlooked the street but no noise penetrated.

Breakfast is an adequate buffet in a comfortable room, with hot food cooked to order (the options thankfully go beyond the Ulster Fry).

All the staff we met were helpful and friendly.

The hotel has no private parking but we found free on-street parking nearby. However, this may be less available in term time and the nearest secure parking is an impractical distance away. Free hi-speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel but the system requires frequent reconnection and a separate username/code for each device.

We recommend Dukes as a good alternative to Belfast's soulless hi-rise hotels, especially for tourists without cars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    238
    78
    25
    20
See reviews for
70
425
30
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

we stayed here a few years ago just after they opened and have been back again since. On both occasions found the staff and the hotel itself absolutely excellent. Great base for exploring, food very good. love the ipod docks in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A very nice hotel that was hard to fault. We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was very large and well furnished. The bed was huge. Bathroom was clean and well appointed. Breakfasts were lovely. Staff were very friendly and willingly gave advice about local sites to see. The only down side of this hotel was perhaps the car parking. We were lucky and found street parking close by otherwise we may have had a problem as there seemed to be little other car parking avaiable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieSuzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Engladn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

stayed for 2 nights recently - our flight arrived very early and, having alerted the hotel in advance, we were able to check into our room by 11am which I felt was very flexible. Room was large and comfortable but some problems with technology which we needed help with. Couple of disappointments were that we were told there was wireless throughout the hotel but there was no reception in our room - they had a lead but that didn't work with the rather old equipment I had. Also there seemed to be no window which could open. However, very helpful reception staff. Didn't eat supper here but good breakfast. Very reasonable cost. Great location next to the University. Would stay again - perhaps in a different room?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for one night as we were visiting the new Titanic experience. Arrived at the hotel at 8.30 am due to our very early flight and we were able to leave our bags behind reception. Receptionist very friendly, efficient and helpful. When we came back to check in at 5 it was done quickly and we were given room 203 - it was HUGE!! Perhaps too big? The massive bed was, however, wonderful! Huge tv on the wall which was great to catch up on Olympics!. Bathroom large with wonderful walk-in rain shower and bath. However, the sink had a large crack in it and one of the big lights that surrounded the mirror on the wall was out. I think that housekeeping was slightly a let down. On closer inspection the corners of the room were dusty and there had been tea/coffee spilt on the wall which hadn't been removed. However had fantastic night's sleep and breakfast next day was brilliant. My husband and I chose the full Irish which was HUGE (a common theme in this hotel!). Again, as we weren't flying until 9.30 that night, we left our bags on check out and went on the Titanic City Tours bus round the city. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for it's location, friendly and efficient staff and the bed and breakfast. A few improvements would have had it 5* for us. Certainly in the nicest area in Belfast. Oh, and by the way, visit the Titanic exhibition - brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biblet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Visited Belfast last week with friends and stayed at the Dukes. We found the staff very friendly and helpful . Our room was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom with bath and walk in shower . Huge comfy bed and a massive telly. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. We didn't eat here at night - only because we wanted to get out and about. Plenty of pubs ,bars and eateries nearby and only a short walk to the city. Will stay again .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with our 9 month old daughter and a suite. The room was great, lots of room with an impressive bathroom. The staff at reception were very friendly and helped with anything they could. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes at Queens

Property: Dukes at Queens
Address: 65-67 University Street, Belfast BT7 1FY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Dukes Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#13 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
#24 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dukes at Queens 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Dukes at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes At Queens Belfast
Dukes Hotel Belfast
Dukes At Queens Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing