We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent independent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Excellent independent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Usually stay in a well known chain but was recommended park avenue by a colleague, hotel looks modern from the outside and one of the best welcomes ever by reception, their training or recruitment is outstanding, receptionist friendly and remembered by colleague from previous visits- nice touch. Bar was traditional with a modern touch- I liked it anyway and staff were attentive even though busy. Food typical bar food but ok maybe not inspiring but enough choice,
Rooms large with plenty of tv channels and huge bed. Decoration good. Bathrooms again modern with bath.
Overall an excellent independent hotel whose staff give it that extra tick. On business so not sure about the local area. Did see some pubs and takeaways etc near by and a tesco extra almost opposite. On east side not far from city airport

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    198
    79
    27
    22
See reviews for
100
202
40
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is well appointed and staff are nice and friendly. I had to print my boarding pass and they helped me with that without charge. Breakfast is very good. It was a bit further away from the city centre but there are bus links to the city and it doesn't take long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed in many different hotels around the world and I can honestly say this one is up there in my top 10.
The staff are very welcoming, super friendly and customer service is the main priority.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped, free WiFi also a welcome change from the norm.
I recommend the "Ulster Breakfast" which included traditional soda bread and potato pancakes.
Special thanks to Zara, Samuel, Helen & Leah in the bar and the extensive knowledge of interesting drinks ;)
I look forward to coming back again.
All the best Mark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Your_Uncle_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

What struck me most of all about this hotel was the excellent level of service and customer care. Every member of staff with whom I inter-acted couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The bar was full of atmosphere. I'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The reception girls at the park avenue are just amazing! They cant do enough for you & i love the warm welcome and that they remembered me from my previous stay..it just gives this hotel a special feel that many other belfast hotels lack.

The bar serves great food at amazing value....meals are Massive! Like the warm relaxed feel in the bar but....and this is my only negative...the bar staff could do with a little more maturity on the team...they were loudly discussing their work rotas, how much they got paid & other members of staff..i was there to chill..it just got on my nerves...

The hotel is lovely and clean and cosy and warm

The room was great

Breakfast was lovely & the breakfast staff amazing in particular the girl

I really enjoy stayin in the park avenue i love that it has on site parking & you're made to feel soooo valued & special

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAR131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Once again we had an excellent stay at this hotel. The staff were more than helpful, always friendly and cheerful. The breakfast was excellent and there was even a limited breakfast available for people who had to leave before seven. This early breakfast was much more than we expected as it was available from 4.30am.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The staff are lovely but the decor throughout the hotel really lets it down - very dark and dated for a modern building. We were in Room 312, the toilet didnt flush consistently, and our room was just cluttered with unecessarily large furniture - the only mirror in our room was on a wall behind the tv, not very clever.

Also, in the bathroom there was a tv fitted into the wall which I had never seen and thought was a novel idea, but alas this didnt work either. The shower was strange too, very powerful but as this was centralised in the bath & the showerhead was not adjustable it was very difficult to shower comfortably, I'm 5'7" and anyone shorter would really struggle.

This was out first and last visit to the Park Avenue Hotel and I'm glad we were only there for one night. I have no idea why this is classed as a 4star, it should be a 3 star at best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 45 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Hotel

Property: Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 158 Holywood Road, Belfast BT4 1PB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Belfast
#14 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Belfast
Hotel Park Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing