We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but wouldn't go back”
Review of Park Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here as a treat weekend away for myself and my girlfriend after looking at their website and the pictures of the room we were looking forward to our stay. Arrived to the hotel on Friday afternoon to two uninterested receptionists. Anyway headed up to the room which was quite small and nothing like whats on the website. The room was clean and so was the bathroom but there was nothing special or luxary about the room. One really negative thing is that our room door wasn't closed properly after our room had been serviced so anyone could have just walked into our room. The bar was a bit dull and lifeless so didn't drink there. Saturday morning we came for breakfast which was basic enough, for a hotel that cooks breakfast to order I really dont understand why they buy in plastic wrapped pastries and muffins. Cooked breakfast was lovely. I tried to make a dinner reservation in the restaurant after breakfast and was told I had to go to the reception.....why? Dinner although the food was nice the experience was ruined when my steak which I ordered med/rare came out well/done, when I sent it back they brought me out a new one which the chef had butterflied to cook it quicker but still managed to overcook it. The Bushmills sauce that came with it tasted of nothing. My partners food was all lovely. Overall never really felt like a valued customer no one tried to speak with us everyone seemed quite uninterested in guests besides the lady at checkout. How suitable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marco004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 831 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. The room was large and spotless and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in which resulted in an excellent sleep. The dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were great (and very reasonably priced) and the staff were most friendly and helpful and had a good knowledge of the local attractions etc. Overall, a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank AussieTraveller1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Only stayed here one night on our way back to UK. Very convenient for City airport - about 10 minutes away, even at peak times. Room was clean and quite big. Good choice for breakfast and started serving early which was a bonus as we had an early flight. Ate in the bar in the evening, good food and large portions but having asked for extra gravy was charged £2.50 for it. Thought this was extortionate as we were already paying for two meals. Will stay again but won't request extra gravy!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pontymozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was our third trip to the Park Avenue and we will certainly be back. We stayed in one of the new Executive rooms which was stylish, comfortable and great value for money and as always the staff could not be more helpful and polite. Five minutes from the city airport it is an ideal base for Belfast break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jockdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We've stayed here several times over the past decade and its been updated and appearance-wise is now better. It still falls short of a real 4-star due to the little things. The food is not consistent and not really 4 star quality but then the prices are very reasonable. The service is fine but the place is often very quiet and lacks atmosphere. The beds are comfortable and the rooms very clean but little extras are missing e.g. no tissues at all in the rooms.

Room Tip: Its worth going for a deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I had the pleasure of dealing with this hotel and in particular, Natalie the reception manager. A small request for my car hire to be left at the hotel was dealt with professionalism and they seemed delighted to help. I really look forward to dealing with them again. Service as it should be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I don't think a more comfortable bed exists anywhere... I hope that doesn't change. Beautifully decorated and maintained, sound proofed, spacious, clean. Comfortable, well appointed bathroom. Courteous staff. Breakfast included table service as well as serve-yourself buffet...unexpected for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solo_man_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Stormont Hotel
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,085 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#11 of 45 in Belfast
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Hotel

Address: 158 Holywood Road, Belfast BT4 1PB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Belfast
#14 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#20 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $125 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Belfast
Hotel Park Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing