We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy stay”
Review of Maranatha House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maranatha House
Ranked #7 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy stay”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My dad and I stayed here for a long weekend. It is a very nice B&B, with lovely staff. The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast is very nice as well. About a 15 minute walk into the centre of Belfast but we didn't mind. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    73
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
85
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A return to the Maranatha where we have stayed before as well as a number of our family members. The bedrooms are spacious with big wardrobes (you could walk into ours - Room 4) and other storage space too. The en-suite shower room and toilet is also spacious. Our room overlooked the Ravenhill Road but there was little traffic noise in the room. The beds are king-sized doubles. Breakfast is good in a spacious (it's all spacious!) dining room, and there is also a lounge with computer and printer (for printing those on-line boarding passes, etc.).
It is a walkable distance into the city centre for those who are a bit hardy, otherwise it is about a £5 taxi fare, even late in the evening. Parking for about half a dozen cars, if parked neatly, at the front of the house.The very pleasant Ormeau Park is directly across the road. It took us 20 minutes to drive to Belfast City Airport during Monday morning rush-hour (same as it would take a taxi) and it is about 30/40 minutes out to Belfast International depending on the time of day.
Bedrooms are lockable, and the two front doors are normally locked but you have keyed access at all times.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter, as are rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had booked in the beginning for four nights but ended up staying six,it was a very enjoyable stay and truth be told it was like a home stay.
Easy from here to get about the city and enjoy what belfast has to offer,the management made you feel right at home and were very helpful in all respects.
I have no hesitation in putting forward the marantaha house for anyone wishing a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Top floor room 9 very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We would like to reiterate our review of two years ago, when The Maranatha came to our rescue. Since then we have been back twice returning from a long weekend just recently. This B&B is in a very good part of the City with easy access to the Centre and only a short drive from the City Airport.
Breakfast is always a heartening start to the day and both Marian and Myrtle always make you feel so welcome. Everything is done efficiently, but very laid back and they are always ready with any information you need for your stay. We love to watch City life unfolding along Ravenhill Road and the lovely Ormeau Park. Plenty of space in our room and we are free to come and go as we please. We shall be back again as and when family commitments call us and would thoroughly recommend the Maranatha to anyone whether travelling on business or for pleasure

Room Tip: The front rooms offer plenty of interest overlooking the Park and local activities which we like and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistleyHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The accommodations here are not up to the high ratings given. Among the problems are squeaky floors, tiny bathroom, small shower, narrow steep stairs and a general shabbiness through the whole house. The charge for using a credit card was off putting, especially since their machine could not process our debit card. Not our fault. The hospitality and friendliness of our hostess, Marian, and an excellent breakfast pulled this rating up from a lower one, but it was not enough to overcome the lack of ambience here. Definitely do not recommend it and won't be going back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

During my stay at Maranatha House I found the location very handy to Belfast City centre, you could walk in if need be, but there is a great bus service just outside the front door at £1.70. Rooms where very clean and tidy, breakfast nicely cooked, staff where always very helpful and friendly offering lots of advice on things to do and places to see. Overall I was very happy with this accommodation, good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seirceil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is really a lovely comfortable stay. I was in a single room with a spacious ensuite shower-room. The bed was comfortable and the room was cosy (temperatures were dropping at night in mid-September). Breakfast is great, the coffee is excellent and although I am gluten-intolerant I was really well looked after (brought my own bread). You can walk into Belfast city centre in 15 minutes, and the Titanic Quarter is about 25 minutes' walk, mostly along the banks of the Lagan. Ormeau Park opposite the Maranatha was lovely too. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borymas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,282 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maranatha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maranatha House

Property: Maranatha House
Address: 254 Ravenhill Road, Belfast BT6 8GJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Maranatha House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maranatha House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranatha Guest House Hotel Belfast
Maranatha Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing